Winter Gin Recipe

I was having one of those nights during finals. My shoulders hurt from being slumped over a laptop. I was writing and writing and writing. It was late and cold outside. I was ready for a break.

Husbanks whipped up this beauty for me. If you just thought gin was for the summer – think again! Mix these things together in a fancy glass coffee mug and enjoy with a pretty scarf wrapped around your neck:

Hot Gin Cocktail
2 oz gin
3/4 oz lemon juice
2 oz boiling water
1 tsp sugar
1 cinnamon stick

  1. #1 by Katie on January 5, 2012 - 11:43 am

    Confession. I’ve never had gin. And I also had to go uncapitalize “gin” because I’m so used to writing it as Ginny’s name. The next time I see you, will you teach me how to drink gin? Thanks 😉

  2. #2 by Ward on January 6, 2012 - 4:41 am

    So unless I’m missing some more specific name for this, I think it’s pretty much a gin hot toddy. Toddies are a great way to warm up… and, if you’re not paying attention, get really drunk (they can really sneak up on you).

    I do bourbon hot toddies in the winter—hot water, bourbon, honey, lemon zest, grated nutmeg, grated cinnamon. Except I got tired of grating the lemon, nutmeg, and cinnamon so I infused a bottle of bourbon for a week and am using that 🙂

Leave a comment