Lasagna Math

Hil has three lasagnas in her refrigerator, all in 9 x 13 baking dishes.

Two of the lasagnas are beef and spinach.  One is in ceramic, one is in Pyrex. They were prepared Sunday afternoon and frozen until Thursday morning, when they were placed in the fridge to thaw.

One lasagna is veggie.  That lasagna was prepared Thursday night and placed in the fridge.  It is in a Pyrex baking dish.

Both lasagnas were prepared with “no boil, bake ready” noodles.

The beef lasagnas should bake in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.

The vegetable lasagna should bake in a 350 degree oven for 60-65 minutes.

All lasagnas will bake in the same small oven.

My oven runs 20 degrees lower than the dial indicates.

The guests arrive at 6:30 p.m.

How long and at what temperature should Hil bake the lasagnas?  Should she rotate them? In what intervals?

  1. #1 by Morgan on March 20, 2009 - 2:34 pm

    I say put them all in at 350 (370 on your oven!) and check them after 45 minutes. They may end up taking closer to 60 minutes. Put the beef lasagnas on the rack in the oven closer to your heating element (mine is on the bottom of the oven but I am sot sure if that is the same in all ovens!), and put the vegetable lasagnas on the opposite rack. Try not to have the pans touching each other, because that conducts more heat.

  2. #2 by Blair on March 20, 2009 - 3:21 pm

    I wish I could provide some cool math, but I can’t:( I’ve heard/read on the Interweb that putting lots of stuff in the oven at once can lower the temperature. In that case, my advice would be to bake them at 375 — 395 if you have a ghetto oven 🙂 I think rotating them is a good idea especially if the oven doesn’t heat evenly (read: ghetto). I’d say to rotate every 15 minutes.

  3. #3 by Ellie on March 20, 2009 - 5:13 pm

    I have no words of help. I’m just impressed you made that many lasangnas and have that many bakind dishes! What’s the occasion?

  4. #4 by hilstreet on March 20, 2009 - 7:41 pm

    Church party. We are entertaining someone considering working at our church. It will be a ghetto time, I can feel it!

    Thanks for all the advice!

  5. #5 by Blair on March 20, 2009 - 8:05 pm

    I didn’t mean to make it sound like your whole party was going to be ghetto. Just the oven part 🙂 Unless of course Andria is gonna stop by…

  6. #6 by hilstreet on March 20, 2009 - 8:21 pm

    Andria + a party = ghetto.

    And you said you didn’t have cool math for us, Blair!

  7. #7 by Johanna on March 21, 2009 - 8:23 pm

    I hope you just microwave ’em. That’s what it says to do on the back of the Lean Cuisine veggie lasagna.

Leave a comment