I am Thankful

I am thankful.

I am thankful that my family has enough healthy food to eat.

I am thankful that we live in a home with air conditioning, heat, and running water.

I am thankful that we can drink our tap water.

I am thankful that we have clothes.

I am thankful that we have cars that work.

I am thankful that we have jobs.

I am thankful to live in a country where my son received advanced medical care. He might not have fought his infection upon birth had his soul been placed in a remote part of Africa. His value is the same as any other human, but he was born here, and that’s why he is healthy today.

I am thankful to live in a place where no one likes the president, no one likes congress, and no one likes Rick Perry, but there isn’t widespread violence.

I’m not anxious about what I don’t have. I am thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Image

  1. #1 by Ingrid on November 25, 2011 - 5:42 pm

    Beautifully said.

  2. #2 by AustinFaith on November 25, 2011 - 8:33 pm

    I am thankful for all of you.

Leave a Reply

