Ten Years Ago Today

Ten years ago today was my first date with Husbanks. The date where he gave me a power bar wrapper (still framed in our house).

Today I am wearing the shirt I wore on our first date (I need new clothes?).

Per your request, I’ve been reading through the emails he and I sent to each other one decade ago. They make me blush. So much so that I will not be posting them. Sorry.

I love that they are electronic. A couple in our church lost their home in the fire. In that blaze they lost all the letters they had kept. I’d be sad to lose these.

It’s like reading someone else’s love story. I have NO recollection of the over-the-top cheesy romance that we shared. I read each email, wishing it were me that this gentleman was writing kind things to. Then I remember that it is. And that he still is in my life. What a neat gift, dear blog reader.

Either a neat gift or a red flag that Husbanks and I need to say nicer things to each other.

Thank you for your request to read these emails because I am so enjoying the rediscovery!

Don’t forget to say nice things to each other.

  1. #1 by b on September 13, 2011 - 2:59 pm

    Ten years ago today, you, me and Joe were taking Religions of the World together! RIP Dr. John Jonsson

    • #2 by hilstreet on September 13, 2011 - 8:59 pm

      That class was EARLY.

  2. #3 by anappleadayproject on September 13, 2011 - 8:11 pm

    that is super sweet. i agree, say nice things. make an effort. accept, bless, release. move on. all that good stuff – know you will have a fun 20th and look back at even more cheesy, delightful, moments. love you both. three. whatever.

  3. #4 by Another HM on September 18, 2011 - 6:03 pm

    When ever I write a note to newly married couples I always tell them to be nice, to say please and thank you.

    • #5 by hilstreet on September 21, 2011 - 10:22 pm

      I say “don’t be crazy.”

  4. #6 by brigzorn on September 23, 2011 - 8:48 am

    I wanted to read some of the sappy emails Philip and I sent to each other at our wedding. He said no way. Maybe they’ll show up on my blog some day. Bahahaha.

Leave a Reply

