My New Job(s)

The summer is coming to a close and I haven’t told you anything about my new job(s)! This blog has turned into Rid Street and I am sorry about that.

No I’m not, he’s cute!

Well, I’ve got two church jobs. One for my local church and one for the district. Both organize church people doing stuff (good stuff) in the world. My schedules are unpredictable flexible. Definitely not 9-5. I work Sunday mornings and my only night away from Riddles thus far was a night spent at work. But, I also get to spend every afternoon with him snuggling and playing with blocks. I’ll take it. I grew up with parents who worked weekends and holidays. Piece of cake.

I spend the day reading about statistics of those who are hungry, poor, forgotten, and ill. I learn the latest numbers on natural disasters and see where the church can help. I communicate with people across the street and across the globe to see what they need. I meet people who need food, money, community, and direction. Everyday I get a question I have never answered before.

At its worst, I understand the world to be a big puzzle of basic needs that is never solved.

Oh, but at its best, I watch people stretch themselves, and make a difference. I watch the Church, which everyone complains about, as a powerhouse of aid, reaching where no one wants to go. I see people get what they need with gratitude, and immediately give in return. I see people waiting for each other, gaining patience.

When needs and passions meet, that’s the sweet spot. The cycle of injustice never stops, but there are moments where I get a little breath of fresh air. A glimpse. Those are the moments when I remember why I do this.

That’s my jobs!

  1. #1 by Morgan on August 11, 2011 - 10:07 pm

    That is amazing. I am proud to tell people I know you. You are giving and compassionate – from Ridley to the ends of the earth. You inspire me!

  2. #2 by brigwork on August 12, 2011 - 11:00 am

    Love this post. I feel the exact same way about my non-profit gig. Some days you see the ugly stuff….and some days the beauty of the world overwhelms you. C’est la vie.

  3. #3 by Husbanks on August 12, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    My favorite part is, “I understand the world to be a big puzzle of basic needs that is never solved.” You’ve hit the nail on the head. It really is that simple/complex. Love you, wife.

  4. #4 by tierd on August 12, 2011 - 3:42 pm

    You inspire me too!

  5. #5 by Beth on August 12, 2011 - 6:39 pm

    This sounds PERFECT for you šŸ™‚ Congratulations on finding a job that you love, Hil.

  6. #6 by Becky on August 19, 2011 - 8:18 pm

    Love it! I wish I got to do a piece of your job! Such important work.

Leave a Reply

