It’s Hot: Day Two of Gin Week on Hilstreet

Like most high school girls in the 90s, I knew (know) all the words to Rent.

Today’s recipe inspired by Rent: Tom Collins

1 oz. lemon juice
1/2 oz. simple syrup
2 oz. London dry gin
Soda water
Cherry and lemon or orange slice

Serve over ice.

  1. #1 by Ginny on July 19, 2011 - 8:41 am

    Strangely, this one gives JT terrible heartburn. Old man.

  2. #2 by b on July 19, 2011 - 11:10 am

    Gin Recommendation: Bluecoat American Dry Gin

    This is the gin that got me to like gin

  3. #3 by Ellie on July 19, 2011 - 1:10 pm

    I used to drink these all the time – it was my signature cocktail. Ginny – it gives me heartburn, too. I havent had one in ages… I might be making a trip to my neighborhood liquor store today or tomorrow!

  4. #4 by tarathronson on July 20, 2011 - 3:56 pm

    Too funny – I made a reference to Rent this week too! My colleague said he was hoping for a trip to Santa Fe…I couldn’t stop singing in my head “we’ll open up a restaurant in…Santa Fe”

  5. #5 by Ginny on July 21, 2011 - 11:30 am

    @Ellie – guess it’s gotta be the lemon but lemon doesn’t bother him otherwise. The Tom Collins is powerful.

  6. #6 by Beth on July 29, 2011 - 6:34 pm

    I’m gonna hafta try this simply because I was one of those high school girls that sang Rent with you back in the day…

Leave a Reply

