It’s Hot: Gin Week on Hilstreet

I enjoyed a much-anticipated girls night last week. The enlightening conversation! The laughs! The wine! I thought about it all day leading up to the big event. The minute the waiter arrived I busted out with “tempernillo!” I did not need time to look over the wine list.

My company took the time to look over the wine list. And they had sparkling wine.

Because we were dining al fresco.

And it was abillion degrees.

Oops.

Red wine is not a heat-wave beverage. I need some refreshing drinks in my repertoire. And as much as it pains me to admit it in the land of TexMex … I’m not a margarita gal.

And gin reminds us a little of Don Draper. Which can never be bad.

Enter: gin! And a post series!

I’ll share one drink recipe everyday this week. Today’s is the classic recipe for gin.

Today’s Recipe: Martini
1 1/2 oz. gin
1 1/2 oz. vermouth
Lemon peel

Shake (with ice) and pour into a chilled martini glass.

  1. #1 by b on July 18, 2011 - 10:34 am

    glad you use a real recipe for a martini. i ordered a martini the other day and was served vodka with olive juice, no vermouth – vomit….

  2. #2 by hilstreet on July 18, 2011 - 12:39 pm

    I forgot about olives! That is an important consideration.

  3. #3 by Katie on July 18, 2011 - 5:52 pm

    I’m not going to lie, from the title of thos post I thought it was about Ginny Taylor. However I enjoyed it even though it wasn’t! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. #4 by hilstreet on July 18, 2011 - 8:57 pm

    That might be coming later …

  5. #5 by anappleadayproject on July 31, 2011 - 11:00 pm

    Gin week? you are having gin week without me? gin and tonic is my summer drink. i am truly sad and bereft from the loss of this together time. when i get back, and finish making it up, i will give you the recipie for a Kiskatini – named after the best bird who lives at Memaw’s…….anappleaday girl

  6. #6 by hilstreet on August 1, 2011 - 7:43 am

    Appleaday – I thought of DJG with these posts. I can’t wait to ask him some gin questions!

  7. #7 by Sarah H on August 5, 2011 - 9:57 am

    I read this and thought, girls’ night with Hil! Fun! I wish I had been there! Then read the story and realized…..I was. Yay! We had a great time even though you drank red wine ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

