I Did It Wrong: Summer Cut

Well, we’re in a drought. I’m used to seeing three digits on my car thermometer. I think “ah, it’s cool” when it’s 93.

I’m used to avoiding the outdoors from noon until midnight. It rained for 10 seconds a couple weeks ago and it scared me.

Anyway, a heat wave is no place for a fluffy kitty. Husbanks and I knew it was time to take Martin to the groomers.

Martin’s summer cut last year was hilarious …

Summer Cut 2010

It was funny, but he still looked distinguished.

Not this year. I really Delilahed this one. Because of the extreme heat, I ordered more shave. The cut I ordered this year is so ugly, it even takes the beautiful Martin down with it. I mean … what is that poodle tail?

Summer Cut 2011

Why is there a rat on my table?

Sorry, Martin. Consider this your “bad perm in 7th grade” phase or something. An awkward phase builds character.

In related hair news, Riddles has some hair!

Respect the spike.

  1. #1 by Katie on July 7, 2011 - 4:15 pm

    i laughed my way through this ENTIRE post. love.

  2. #2 by Kathy on July 7, 2011 - 4:15 pm

    Darling baby and darling kitty!

  3. #3 by emiliekopp on July 8, 2011 - 1:23 pm

    What does Martin think? Does he appreciate the utility of the extreme-summer-cut or is he more concerned about his fantabulous looks?

  4. #4 by veronica on July 10, 2011 - 11:22 pm

    Hahahaha poor Martin! Thinking of increasing Miss Piggy’s outside time, maybe we should get her the 2010 look 🙂

  5. #5 by Stephanie Scalco Logerot on July 11, 2011 - 10:21 pm

    I actually laughed out loud at the picture of Martin. Poor kitty! It wouldn’t be so bad if not for the puff on his tail.

  6. #6 by Hazel on July 19, 2011 - 5:59 pm

    No wonder he jumped on your pizza!!! Paybacks are hell.

  7. #7 by Beth on July 29, 2011 - 6:40 pm

    It’s official:

    Any time Martin gets his hair did, I tend to laugh for 5 minutes straight.

  1. Check out Hil’s Cat | Settling West

Leave a Reply

