Conference Thoughts

Conference thought 1: Be patient.

Johanna sent me a fun article this week. It’s frustrating when people use a Bible they haven’t read to make a point. Especially when the point they are making is a serious one. This article helps us remember that this happens all the time and lots of times it’s not so serious. Breathe.

I’m so glad I have the whole world figured out!

Conference thought 2: Don’t be shy. 

At conference, you are required to wear your name tag and be in your assigned seat to vote. This year I am a conference delegate, not a delegate from my local church. This means I have no idea where I will sit or with whom I will sit. All I know is that voting is a tedious process lasting all day and all night. And at those long sterile tables under fluorescent light in uncomfortable folding chairs surrounded by thousands of strangers in their Sunday clothes, Husbanks will walk Riddles over to me every three hours. And I’ll have to finagle my clothes. And fight with the nursing cover. And feed him.

I am very nervous about this. 

To make me feel better about my impending offense, my super-cool friend Ruth showed me the note card she carries with her explaining Texas breastfeeding laws. She REALLY wants someone to comment while she is feeding her daughter so she can whip it out like a badge, but no one ever has. But it makes her feel better to have it. And it makes me feel better to know she has never had to use it.

Now that I have read her note card I am informed and I can say, “Oh, you want me to stop breastfeeding? Have you read Chapter 165 of the Texas Health and Safety Code? Because I have – and this is legal.”

I could probably even say it’s in the Bible and no one would know the difference.

Conference Thought 3: Don’t get Cranky.

In preparation for conference, I’ve been reading Tara’s General Conference experiences and I have been trying not to get emotional. I have my moments. My moments when I don’t want to go to conference and deal with debate. But Sunday morning I held Riddles while Abe was being baptized, and I realized that I want to make the Methodist connection as powerful for Abe and Riddles as it is for their parents. And I can’t do that by sitting at home.

Vote for Sarah (shameless plug)!

Onward, Conference Soldiers!

  1. #1 by Beth on June 6, 2011 - 3:50 pm

    Hil, in response to a request that she not breast feed:

    “Oh yeah?! Well the Bible says ‘a woman shall nourish from her own bossom a new generation…” so it is AGAINST MY REGLIGION to use a bottle and you, sir, are a heathen if you expect me to do otherwise. ‘Get behind me, Satan!'”

    Hahahaha! But seriously, I hope you have a wonderful time at your conference.

  2. #2 by Sarah H on June 9, 2011 - 10:18 am

    Like

  3. #3 by Sarah H on June 9, 2011 - 10:20 am

    oh and I think it helps that your nursing cover is super cute. people will be too busy admiring your large, loose garment to notice the baby feet sticking out from under it…..

Leave a Reply

