Preparing for Conference

Every year, United Methodist churches get together with the United Methodist churches around them and they vote on the direction of the church (Annual Conference). Every four years, all the United Methodists around the world send delegates to vote on the direction of the church (General Conference).

It’s the week before my annual conference. I’m spending this week reading and listening and praying. Some of my close friends are on the ballot for General Conference delegation and some are going to be commissioned and some are authors for controversial petitions. Some of my close friends will be affected by the results of these petitions and so I pray. I pray for the church I love. I pray because we are 11 million opinions trying to get along when the stakes are the highest. I pray because I know hurtful things will happen next week, but I also know beautiful things will. I pray I’m not too distracted by the hurtful things to see the beauty.

So I’m reading and listening and praying. Wondering what conference will bring and wondering what conference will send.


Annual Conference 2009 – Pre-Riddles and Elias!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

