Remember Your Baptism and Be Thankful


Hello, baby –

You were baptized on Sunday. In the Methodist church, you will be reminded of this symbol of grace and community as you grow. When you are 11 years old, you will take confirmation classes to become a member of the church. And at that time, you will be asked to remember your baptism.

Let me help you with that.

I made an invitation to invite my friends to your baptism.

On the morning of your baptism, you were in a good mood. This was your first time to be in the sanctuary for church. You are usually in the cry room eating and partying with the other babies.

The sermon was from Acts 2 and was about how God ‘s goodness is shown when we love each other. You talked throughout the sermon, but you didn’t cry. You also didn’t spit up (or worse) on the preacher. Whew. You were supported in your baptism by your church family, your grandparents, your grandfather’s cousin Pete and his wife Johnese, your aunt Nicole, uncle Matt, cousins Gus and Dub, your second cousin Alexis and her daughters Angelique and Coco, and dear friends Emilie, Deirdre, Johanna, Andria, Blair, Blake, Adam, Kelly, Stacie, Kyle, Knox, Jon, Morgan, Shilah, Nathan, Amber and Abe.

During the baptism, you chewed on Pastor Paul’s bulletin and thumb because it felt good on your teething gums. You were interested in your own feet.

After the baptism (which was at 11:46 a.m., Nathan tells me), Pastor Paul walked you up and down the aisle to see the church family that will take care of you. Your church family touched your feet and said sweet things to you. The Chancel Choir sang. Your church family vowed to help you become a strong man of faith. Grandma and Nathan and Cina gave you books and Andria and Blair gave you cacti. I know there is a parallel between the baptismal waters and a plant that needs little, but I just can’t think of it right now.

After the baptism, we had turkey sandwiches and cake and cupcakes at our house with the family. You pooped out of your beautiful white outfit and all over me.

While this letter will help you remember your baptism, so will a complete stranger. A woman who was visiting Saint John’s on Sunday was so moved by your baptism ceremony that she made you a burp cloth. She wrote a note and mailed it to me at church. She doesn’t even know us, but she made my day. Of course I felt love during your baptism, but it was nice to hear that someone who didn’t know us felt it too.

I hope you will be kind to others as you remember your baptism. I love you.

-Mom

  1. #1 by emiliekopp on May 27, 2011 - 9:11 am

    I was there! I could tell your parents were uber-proud. You did great, kiddo!

  2. #2 by Ward on May 27, 2011 - 12:49 pm

    Honest question: my recollection of growing up in the Methodist church is that there was no infant baptism. There was some sort of blessing/dedication/consecreation that you could have as an infant, and then you were baptized as part of confirmation.

    Is that not how things are done anymore?

  3. #3 by hilstreet on May 27, 2011 - 4:01 pm

    In the UMC I have only seen a baptism at confirmation when a confirmand hadn’t been baptized as a baby.

  4. #4 by Misty on May 31, 2011 - 8:59 pm

    We didn’t know about the baptism! Congrats Riddles!!

  5. #5 by Beth on June 1, 2011 - 7:56 pm

    This is a wonderful description of what sounds like a wonderful day. Good job, Riddles!

  6. #6 by Ward on June 7, 2011 - 1:41 am

    Our church was UMC. Almost no one in my class was baptized prior to confirmation—I was the only one (or maybe there were two of us), because I’d decide at around age 9 or 10 to be baptized. Could have sworn my parents told me that was a Methodist thing.

Leave a Reply

