My First Mother’s Day

A few weeks ago, Andria said something that struck me.

“We never tell the most important people how much they have influenced us.”

Andria, don’t worry. I understand how much I mean to you.

LOL

This week is my first Mother’s Day. Yes, I have requested Husbanks’ waffles and I expect that I won’t have to make the coffee or wash the bottles or walk the dog that day. But that’s not why this is my first Mother’s Day. It’s my first Mother’s Day because I understand my own mother. My ability to love my family quadrupled in November and that has made me better understand what this parent/child relationship is all about.

Based on Andria’s advice, I wrote my mother a long card. About how she taught me how to be friends with everyone and how she taught me to be funny and how she taught me to work hard and how she taught me how to sing harmony and how she taught me to seek out meaningful work and how she taught me to decorate and how she taught me to write run-on sentences.

I suspect she’s not surprised I’m having this revelation. “Just wait until you have a baby,” has been uttered to me many times by my mom to relate to the good and the bad in my own behavior.

Well, I’ve had a baby. Now I get it. Thanks, Mom.

  1. #1 by Ellie on May 5, 2011 - 5:11 pm

    “Like”.

  2. #2 by Andria on May 5, 2011 - 5:41 pm

    Happy Mothers Day, Hil! Ridley is so lucky to have a mom like you, just as you are lucky to have Harriet!

  3. #3 by tarathronson on May 6, 2011 - 2:31 pm

    Last year my Mom wrote in my Mother’s Day card “now maybe you know how much I love you.” I answered – yes. Parenthood is powerful. Just when you think you can’t possibly love your kiddo any more, you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

