Help Us Understand

We’ve had food on our minds lately. Husbanks and I have been humbled by the fact that we have enough to eat. This sounds obvious, but when you think of the desperation in the world and the amount of people who don’t have access to sustainable food sources, it’s a tremendous blessing.

In the U.S. we complain because we have too many choices. I gain weight because I can have anything I want to eat at any time. And then I complain about all the weight I have gained because I don’t ‘feel pretty.’ What sounds good for dinner? can be met with exactly the meal I want. It’s heartbreaking.

When Husbanks and I say grace over our dinner, we ask, “help us understand what we should do to help people who don’t have enough.”

I have prayed this cautiously for the past several months, because I knew that God would make it obvious what Husbanks and I needed to do to help those who don’t have enough. And I was afraid it would be scary and hard. And I am already dealing with scary and hard questions about our future.

Well, it was made obvious how we could help those who don’t have enough. But it’s not scary or hard. It’s pretty cool, actually. I got offered a job as the Missions Coordinator at my church. I am very, very excited to already have a pastoral job in mission and ministry before I even enter into the ordination process. I’ll use skills gained in my previous career to represent our church and mission-loving United Methodists to external organizations. The hours are manageable with school, I get pastoral mentorship from our experienced pastors at a church I love, and I’ll work with groups that help people who don’t have enough. I start in May.

I think this job came to our family because Husbanks and I asked to understand what we should do to help those people who don’t have enough. Glad I was honest and put it out there.

Will this be in a sermon someday? Maybe.

I’ll let you know what I learn.

  1. #1 by Tab on April 13, 2011 - 11:45 am

    Yey! Congrats! That sounds like the perfect job for you. I’m so excited for you!

  2. #2 by Ellie on April 13, 2011 - 12:58 pm

    Congrats! I can’t wait to hear all about what you’re learning. What an awesome year this is shaping up to be.

  3. #3 by Sarah H on April 13, 2011 - 9:00 pm

    Sounds like a sermon to me!! Can’t wait to have you officially on staff. I am so going to go hang out in your office. xo

  4. #4 by tierd on April 15, 2011 - 2:29 pm

    Congratulations – that is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

