Favorite Pics: I Don’t Know Anything about Photography

I am surrounded by photographers. My friend, Jen L. is a college photography teacher. Morgan, Andria, Stacie, Jen H., Jen D. (get a blog, Dawkins), Gin, and Deirdre are hobby photographers. And they are good. Real good. They talk about things like “creative expression” in their pictures and they talk about camera settings by spouting off numbers and they make jokes about how expensive lenses are and stuff.

They are big time.

I never have Ridley’s arms in focus. My camera is always in the auto setting. The only reason a few of my pictures are good is because Husbanks bought that camera that Ashton Kutcher uses in his commercials. And because James taught Husbanks his photography secret. I’ll never tell. Oh, and because my three subjects are beautiful. Hollis’ beauty is an acquired taste.

I know nothing about photography, but my mother is a photographer. And she took a lot of pictures of me when I was little. I remember the overcast weather that would spur her desire to drag me outside to take pictures. And now when I see that weather peering through my old aluminum windows, a warm, childhood Pavlovian response floods my tummy and spurs me to get outside with my baby. Because I’m the mommy now. It’s a bittersweet and blessed feeling to be behind the camera. I’ve entered into the responsibility of the middle generation.

  1. #1 by Morgan on March 26, 2011 - 2:02 pm

    omg that is the CUTEST picture. I love it!

  2. #2 by Husbanks on March 26, 2011 - 9:39 pm

    Three cheers! Now we have a sweet picture to show at Ridley’s graduation after we show the pic of him barfing.

  3. #3 by Husbanks on March 26, 2011 - 9:40 pm

    Oh. And I’d like to give a shout out to the Bur Oak. Looking good, tree.

  4. #4 by Katie on March 27, 2011 - 11:43 am

    Oh my cute baby! Good job Hil (and Harriet for passing down this tradition) James and Husbanks, I would like to know this secret please. Surely I’m close enough to the enter circle to be privy (if not, I’M TELLING GIN!). 😉

  5. #5 by MDO on March 27, 2011 - 5:12 pm

    Those CHEEKS!! Love it!!

  6. #6 by Andria on March 27, 2011 - 6:26 pm

    Oh my gosh! Ridley is overflowing with cuteness! Hil, this is a marvelous pic. Are you sure you haven’t been taking photography lessons on the side?

  7. #7 by Emilie on March 28, 2011 - 12:21 pm

    I love the picture! That blue hat is adorable. Does Ridley always go shirtless when he wears it? It must be warm.

  8. #8 by Jennifer Dawkins on March 28, 2011 - 9:57 pm

    1. OMG. That’s the most adorable photo I’ve ever seen. Love him. Love him. Love him. A hat and no shirt? Genius. Drooly lips? Perfect.
    2. Burr Oaks are my favorite tree, after the Magnolia tree, of course. Do you have those huge acorns?
    3. I am the last person on earth without a blog, aren’t I?

  9. #9 by Morgan M on March 28, 2011 - 10:57 pm

    LOVE this picture – Ridley is the perfect model. He’s totally thinking “I know I’m good lookin’ mom, I thought we already established that? Sheesh…”

  10. #10 by Beth on March 29, 2011 - 2:44 pm

    Those. Cheeks. Are. KILLING. Me.

    I die!!!

Leave a Reply

