Becoming a Cliché

When I turned 17, my high-school boyfriend gave me a “Dictionary of Clichés” for my birthday. He told me that I never used cliches correctly. I was caught between a rock and a hard place.

Since giving birth, I have become a cliché . I had a baby the same month everyone else did. I love my baby more than anything, I show Ridley’s picture to everyone, and this blog should really be renamed “On Rid Street.”

And the nail in the coffin is the new mom hairdo. Ellie told me not to cut my hair. But the cliché force is a strong one, Ellie!

Enter: mom haircut.

  1. #1 by Lacy on February 11, 2011 - 10:50 am

    So cute!

  2. #2 by Ellie on February 11, 2011 - 11:56 am

    It’s really cute and I like it! From one cliche to my favorite cliche. 🙂

  3. #3 by b on February 11, 2011 - 11:59 am

    now you just need some mom jeans to go with it!

  4. #4 by emiliekopp on February 11, 2011 - 2:12 pm

    Good call on the mom jeans. Hilary, here is what’s in store:

  5. #5 by Jennifer on February 11, 2011 - 6:16 pm

    I love it! I cut my hair after I gave birth, too! Why does everyone do that? Wait. I know. Tired of throw up in your hair, tired of the baby pulling your hair, tired of dealing with your hair… yep. I remember.

    • #6 by hilstreet on February 11, 2011 - 10:28 pm

      *like*

  6. #7 by Becky on February 12, 2011 - 10:05 am

    It’s cute! Don’t worry. I became a cliche a long time ago! 😛 Just don’t let anyone ever talk you into cutting your hair too short to pull into a ponytail while you have young kids. You’ll regret it as a mom! (Or at least I have!)

    • #8 by hilstreet on February 12, 2011 - 10:49 am

      Good point – a ponytail is essential. I’m rocking the pigtails during bath time now.

  7. #9 by Beth on February 16, 2011 - 5:00 pm

    This new ‘do is HARDLY a “mom” cut! You’re off the hook… 🙂

Leave a Reply

