2010 Survey

Got this from my friend Rachel‘s blog.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before? I begat.

2. Did you keep your resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I can’t find a record of making any New Year’s Resolutions for 2010, so I am going to say “yes.” Under promise, over deliver.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? That is an understatement.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Proximity or emotionally?

5. What countries did you visit? Costa Rica

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010? I don’t want to get stressed out.

7. What date(s) from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? November 11 and November 21. Birth and homecoming.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? ERM! Oh, and I made it up the big hill.

9. What was your biggest failure? Being a post-partum crazy-pants.

10. Did you suffer any illness or injury? Birth is pretty intense.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Subway tile back splash.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Husbanks for dealing with post-partum (and pregnant for that matter) crazy-pants.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? I can’t answer this in a public forum.

14. Where did most of your money go? Vacations and kitchen.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Having medical insurance. Oh, and making it up the big hill.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010? Oh this won’t get one answer.

  • While I was pregnant, I listened to Taizé and Ben Folds a capella because I thought that would be a nice womb soundtrack.
  • Ginny told me that some of her favorite labor memories are about the music people picked, so I planned by birth playlist with precision.
  • I listened to Taizé during labor, and as I was pushing (gross) we listened to the first twenty minutes of Midlake’s latest album.
  • Those were very deliberate decisions.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? I am happier now.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner – I just had a baby. Leave me alone, Survey.
iii. richer or poorer? We have more money now, but more money is being spent too. Ridley needs stuff.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Road biking.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Stressing out.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? Making sure a mobile baby doesn’t eat any tinsel.

22. Did you fall in love in 2010? In a new way, yes.

23. How many one-night stands? Ha. You don’t know me very well, Survey.

24. What was your favorite TV program? Maternity leave has been defined by reruns of Scrubs and New Adventures of Old Christine.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? I don’t hate anyone. I dislike lots of people. ha

26. What was the best book you read? Grapes of Wrath

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? I like #4 on Lonely Avenue. And Groove for Thought.

28. What did you want and get? Ridley healthy.

29. What did you want and not get? A positive delivery of said baby. I was very depressed about this when I was in the post-partum crazy-pants phase, but I am OK with it now because I got a reward! ERM!

30. What was your favorite film of this year? I don’t really watch movies. We did watch a lot of birth videos.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I celebrated 30 with close friends on the banks of the beautiful Lake Tahoe. They made it such a special night complete with fancy wine, chocolate cake, and grilled meats. We also played “highs and lows” with our “highs and lows” host, three-year-old Colin.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Dude, I had a baby. I’m happy.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010? I had two goals: cover my belly and cover my swelling feet.

34. What kept you sane? Prayer (sponsored by Taizé) and Husbanks.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Probably Dr. Karp. There have been some late nights where I am pretty sure I’d kiss him if he were around.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Generalizations of religious communities. That will always be the issue that stirs me the most.

37. Who did you miss? My dad the pediatrician during the whole NICU debacle.

38. Who was the best new person you met? Lacy and I became very close this year, but I met her a while ago.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010: How to support people when they have a baby in NICU.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: The kingdom of God is justice, peace, and joy in the holy spirit. Come Lord, and open the gates of your kingdom in us.

  1. #1 by b on January 5, 2011 - 10:55 am

    yay Sing Off!

    Also, I totally agree on kissing Dr. Karp – right there with you!

  2. #2 by Rachel Austin on January 5, 2011 - 1:05 pm

    I almost choked on a ravioli, lauging out loud, at #23.

  3. #3 by Lacy on January 5, 2011 - 1:29 pm

    Great assessment of your year friend! I can attest to #33 in that you covered your belly very well with a sourdough roll.

  4. #4 by tierd on January 5, 2011 - 2:22 pm

    Loved this! 🙂

  5. #5 by Ingrid on January 5, 2011 - 11:28 pm

    Who could’ve answered that better?

  6. #6 by Ellie on January 7, 2011 - 3:52 pm

    I can’t believe you did #30. Did you watch these on You Tube??
    #9 isn’t a failure, friend. It’s normal.
    #22…aw….

  7. #7 by Emilie on January 7, 2011 - 5:32 pm

    haha, Groove for Thought; let’s hope they are one of the groups that go on tour with the show. I’d totally go see them!

Leave a Reply

