Elizabeth

A dear friend of mine passed away this morning. Elizabeth and I met three years ago through Saint John’s. She was the most social person I knew; I had to get on her calendar early because she always had a party to go to or a friend to visit. When I visited her, we shared communion and prayer together. She had a beautiful courtship with her boyfriend, Wayne, who wrote poetry about their relationship. She always wanted me to borrow her clothes, but at an intimidating and beautiful  5″ 10″, nothing would have fit me.

A UT graduate, Elizabeth would tell me stories about living in the Scottish Rite Dormitory (Rachel knows I am obsessed with the traditions of SRD).

Elizabeth was funny. Her nickname for me (given by Wayne) was the “Methodist Church Lady,” a title I hope I can always live up to. Wayne called her a “Nice Methodist Lady.” Not sure why she was nice and I wasn’t. 🙂

With a life like this, it may or may not surprise you that my friend Elizabeth was 91 at the time of her death. She attended UT in the 30s – what an amazing accomplishment for a women at the time. She raised three children and took care of her husband before his death after a long illness. Her boyfriend romanced her with poetry. She always had a party to go to. Don’t we all hope we can have relationships, wit, and a full social calendar well into our old age.

God Bless Elizabeth.

  1. #1 by Stacie on December 28, 2010 - 4:13 pm

    I am so sorry for the loss of your friend Hilary.

  2. #2 by Ellie on December 29, 2010 - 8:37 pm

    I’m so sorry, Hil.

  3. #3 by Morgan on December 29, 2010 - 9:29 pm

    That makes me so sad. A life well-lived, Elizabeth.

  4. #4 by roadwarriorette on January 12, 2011 - 2:30 pm

    Hil, you were both lucky to have each other. I always loved hearing your stories about her. She was a wonderful lady.

Leave a Reply

