Daytime TV Recipe of the Week: Orzo with Tomato Vinaigrette

I’m going back to work in February so I am milking maternity leave.

And by “milking” maternity leave, I mean … I am treating it like a vacation. I watch entirely too much TV. I am reading a fantastic book. I nap. I eat sweets all day. I exclusively wear elastic-waistband pants. I haven’t been to church. I haven’t been to a church committee meeting. I probably haven’t called you back.

How will you benefit from this, dear blog reader? Because I’ll post a favorite recipe from daytime TV every week.

Something I learned on maternity leave: Ellen and Portia are vegan. They love animals too much to eat them. So here’s a vegan recipe.

Suz – I’ll be on the lookout for gluten-free recipes.

Orzo with Smokey Tomato Vinaigrette
Ellen, December 9, 2010
Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

Ingredients:
8 oz orzo pasta
1/2 lb (1 dry pint) grape tomatoes
1/4 cup packed fresh basil leaves
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 tablespoon agave nectar
1/2 tablespoon salt
pinch black pepper

Place the tomatoes in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook, shaking the pan occasionally, until the tomatoes are tender and the skins are charred in spots, about 10 minutes. Set aside to cool while you breastfeed your baby. Oh, you don’t need to do that? Then watch a sitcom.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the orzo and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Drain and put back in the pot.

Place the tomatoes, basil, vinegar, olive oil, agave nectar, salt, and pepper in a food processor. Blend until smooth then convince your husband to do the dishes because the food processor has so many parts.

Pour the vinaigrette over the orzo in the pan and toss until coated. Makes two servings (as a side dish). Serve this with some protein if this is all you are having for dinner. I made the mistake of only serving this for dinner last week, and Husbanks made a later-night run to Taco C. Don’t make that mistake.

The original recipe called for smoked salt. I think that would probably be delicious.

  1. #1 by Lacy on December 20, 2010 - 9:35 am

    Thanks for the recipes! I’m always looking for new ones. What fantastic book are you reading?

  2. #2 by Suz on December 20, 2010 - 11:48 am

    Sounds delish! I may have to order some g-free orzo to try this recipe out!
    I look forward to more updates, glutenous or not!

  3. #3 by Katie on December 20, 2010 - 7:33 pm

    L-O-V-E ellen. and lovin’ your maternity leave schedule 🙂

  4. #4 by Jennifer on December 22, 2010 - 9:50 pm

    What’s the fantastic book??

  5. #5 by hilstreet on December 23, 2010 - 1:58 pm

    True When Whispered: : Hearing God’s Voice in a Noisy World

Leave a Reply

