Winter Enchiladas

I’m on maternity leave. That means I see a lot of my house. Which is OK because I like my house.

I am feeding Ridley all the time so I am learning how to sit still. Because I am sitting still all the time I watch more TV than ever before. I can tell you all about Ellen and my DVRed programming that I have been waiting since May to watch.

I saw the following recipe on the Today Show. I made these enchiladas on Sunday and they are delicious. They incorporate winter spices so they are a fun, festive version of a basic Mexican favorite. They will be a hit at your holiday party. Or if you make lunch for Husbanks on a Sunday.

Winter Enchiladas
Today on November 29, 2010
Adapted from Aaron Sanchez

Sauce:

* 2 ounces butter
* 5 tablespoons flour
* 2 cups beef broth
* 2 tablespoons chili powder
* 1 teaspoon cumin
* 2 teaspoon garlic powder
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* Pinch nutmeg
* 1 teaspoon brown sugar
* 1/2 cup heavy cream

Filling:

* 10 ounces chorizo (pork or beef)
* 1 sweet potato

Topping:

* 10 corn tortillas
* 3 oz shredded cheddar and monterey jack

Preparation:

Filling: Peel sweet potato and slice into chunks. Place in a baking dish with olive oil. Bake at 350º for one hour.

Sauce: Melt butter in saucepan and whisk in flour. Cook for 2 minutes on medium heat, stirring constantly. Slowly whisk in the broth. Add remaining ingredients, except cream, and whisk thoroughly. Bring to a slight boil and remove from heat. Let cool.

Filling: Sauté chorizo according to package instructions and drain well. Set aside. Get sweet potato chunks out of oven. Combine sweet potato and cooled chorizo. Mash together.

Sauce: Mix cream into cooled sauce.

Lightly coat bottom of a baking dish with sauce. Scoop filling into corn tortillas, roll and place in baking pan. Cover the tops of the enchiladas with sauce and top with shredded cheese. Bake uncovered at 350º for 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is melted and dish is bubbly.

Serves 4-6.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

