Crying Wolf

I preached on Sunday, October 17. That Friday, I called our pastor to let him know that I wasn’t in labor so he didn’t need to have a back-up plan. He told me he didn’t even consider having a back up plan!

Earlier in October, I put my to do list on the server and told my colleagues everywhere that I save anything. Every meeting that I set or planned to attend I would dramatically say “I’ll be there … unless I have had my baby.”

At home, I’ve had a list ready in order of what I need to get done. When it wasn’t all ready at 38 weeks, I was worried.

After my 36 week appointment, I frantically set up time to hang out with Morgan and Alan/Jessica in case I went into labor early. That was weird.

Husbanks canceled his major athletic event of the year. I didn’t go on Women’s Retreat. We missed Staci’s wedding. Husbanks’ parents missed Staci’s wedding cruise. Nicole hasn’t had a trial all month. My mom has been here for a week.

I cried wolf. I’m missing stuff and so are those around me.

It’s my due date, and I’m going to work. But I am OK with that. Right now I know the baby is eating, sleeping and comfortable. It doesn’t cry at night and it’s easy to transport. I don’t have to pay for childcare. Husbanks and I were invited to a jam session happening Friday, and we might just get to go. I am enjoying the anticipation of not knowing if we will raise a girl or boy.

I’m not rushing you, baby. I guess I just rushed myself. Take your time. Be in the moment! Because once you get out here, you rarely will.

  1. #1 by Ellie on November 11, 2010 - 1:42 pm

    Hey, think about this: every person you know is thinking of you today and will continue to think about you all the time, for lots of time to come (even after Baby arrives)! How cool is that!

  2. #2 by Ingrid on November 11, 2010 - 4:00 pm

    No hurry baby! Even after you get here. Love to you Hilary and Husbanks! =)

  3. #3 by Suz on November 11, 2010 - 7:38 pm

    Hey Baby – just want to point out that if you arrive in the next few hours you will be born on a federal holiday and potentially have your future birthdays off work without taking any vacation days!

    But no hurry:) Hope the family is doing well!

  4. #4 by Veronica on November 11, 2010 - 9:23 pm

    Yeah!!! Baby Ridley is here!!! Congratulations Hilary and Ryan!!!!

  5. #5 by Misty on November 12, 2010 - 9:00 am

    Baby Ridley?? CONGRATS!!!!

Leave a Reply

