Last Night’s Freak Out

Well it’s one week until the due date, so my mom is on her way here to stay with us until the baby arrives (as planned). I haven’t seen her since August. I am excited for her to meet her grandchild, excited to see how many things she can do on her laptop, and excited for whatever inside jokes will come out of the next few days. Oh how we laugh, my mother and me.

As I was driving home from work, it hit me that it was our last night – just Husbanks and me. We’ve been “just us” for a long time. I was driving home to the last page of the last chapter before everything changes. I really wanted to make last night special and important and appreciate the seven years of weeknights we have shared together in the unique city we love so much.

Instead we went to Outback Steakhouse for dinner and I cried all evening about the finality of it all.

No really – I couldn’t even stop crying in the Outback Steakhouse. The high-schooler waitress is probably now very afraid of pregnant women.

So our last night as “just us” wasn’t my best. Meh. But it was honest.

  1. #1 by Ellie on November 4, 2010 - 8:25 am

    Did you have cheese fries? The Freak Out is normal, I promise.

    Have a great week with your mom. What an exciting time!!!

  2. #2 by Husbanks on November 4, 2010 - 9:47 am

    I like eating at chain restaurants in Austin. Not only is there never a wait, but I feel like I’m sticking it to the non-establishment establishment by supporting the establishment. No Rules! Just Right!

  3. #3 by b on November 4, 2010 - 10:26 am

    haha, i like your rationale, ryan

  4. #4 by Katie on November 4, 2010 - 12:59 pm

    i have had the same freak out. several times. still currently am. i’m hearing it’s normal from everyone else too. thanks for the honesty, we can do it!!!

  5. #5 by Erin Lynn Young on November 29, 2010 - 10:40 pm

    I’ve never had a baby (in part because I’m still clinging to that whole just-the-two-of-us thing) but oh gosh, I can only imagine how you felt when you realized. Husbanks is funny with his comment about non-establishment establishment. It’s true. We ate at Chili’s on New Years and had the place almost to ourselves one year.

Leave a Reply

