Today, Our Baby Weighs Five to Six Pounds

I’ve been pregnant for a while. And I’m running out of things to say.

Everyday there is one more piece from my borrowed maternity wardrobe that doesn’t fit. Accessorizing is strictly restricted to the neck up. I am pulling out old glasses, scarves (even though it’s in the 80s), and fun earrings to try and make the black pants I wear every other day more interesting.

We took a hospital tour with Stacie and Kyle this week. Morgan always told me to take the hospital tour when I get to the point where I run out of things to say about the pregnancy, because it would give me something to talk about when people want to small talk about my baby. Noted and executed!

This week, I was able to talk about the hospital tour to the engineer in the elevator who said “Woah, you are about to explode.” At least I had a ready response.

After the tour, I promptly emailed L&D Nurse extraordinare Ginny with my thoughts. It’s nice to have friends on the other side of the experience.

Katie also had a hospital tour this week, although it was unintentional and has led to bed rest.

Bed rest is boring. It’s for babies (literally this time).

Here’s a picture. Husbanks took this after our walk this morning so I could send to my mom. Because she’s online now. Before I would have printed, tri-folded, and sent this picture in the mail.

Look at that – I did have things to say!

  1. #1 by Jess on October 14, 2010 - 8:53 am

    You look beautiful!

  2. #2 by Ellie on October 14, 2010 - 10:48 am

    I love your bump more and more each time you share a photo. I bet your mom loves getting them. How were the hospital digs? The food at mine wasn’t all that bad, surprisingly.

  3. #3 by b on October 14, 2010 - 12:29 pm

    lookin good. apparently our baby is 2 weeks bigger than expected, so I guess he’s about the same size as yours right now

  4. #4 by weslie Moore on October 14, 2010 - 12:33 pm

    You’re a good lookin’ pregnant lady! Look at your tiny adorable arms.

    Go baby!

  5. #5 by tarathronson on October 14, 2010 - 4:22 pm

    Are you smuggling a beach ball under there? Ditto on the arms, you are looking fabulous! Probably good to do the tour so close so you remember everything. We forgot which floor to go to, so after getting off on the wrong floor TWICE (while I made us pause for every contraction, and Eric was carrying everything, including our suitcase and a birthing ball) we finally figured out the correct floor. That was frustrating. Husbanks – remember which floor!

  6. #6 by hilstreet on October 14, 2010 - 7:07 pm

    Ladies – I know how to pose to make my arms look skinny – it’s all in the pose. One of the many tricks I learned from Katie.

    B – let’s shoot for the same birthday. I’ll have my baby coordinate with your baby.

    Ellie – The hospital is nice. I didn’t learn much – I really got the tour with Morgan and Julia, I guess. Well, I take that back. I learned all the measures in place to ensure someone doesn’t steal your baby. Didn’t even know that could be an issue.

  7. #7 by Katie on October 18, 2010 - 10:08 am

    i love this. i literally busted out laughing when i say “bed rest is for babies” hilarious. also, i’m glad that my “ways to look skinnier in pictures” tutorials have benefitted someone else besides myself. HIL you are SO CLOSE! i mean, i know that means i’m close, but you’ve got 2 weeks on me (although this kiddo is measuring 2 weeks ahead) that means you’re CLOSER!!! SO. EXCITED.!!!

  8. #8 by Tiffany on October 18, 2010 - 9:25 pm

    Hil – you look so beautiful, you’re nothing but belly! I can’t wait for the baby announcement blog post! Thinking about you – take care and get some rest while you can! 🙂

    • #9 by hilstreet on October 18, 2010 - 10:52 pm

      Don’t worry, Tiff. I am sure the work gossip mill will get to you before a blog post will be written! It’s a very efficient gossip mill!

      I met a soccer player today who was talking about his friend Adrian. Alas, it wasn’t your Adrian. But I got really excited and asked if it was.

Leave a Reply

