First Date

Nine years ago today, Husbanks and I went on our first official date. It was a formality – we had been friends for a long time and it seemed silly to have a “first date,” but I guess that’s what you do in the courtship process.

For our “first date,” we planned to see Janet Reno speak on our college campus, but 9/11 precautions grounded air traffic so she canceled her trip. We instead went to the Black Eyed Pea, and my roommate, Katie, told me to wear my glasses so I wouldn’t look too cute because she wasn’t sure about Husbanks. Then, I guess he was just “Datebanks” actually.

When we were friends, Husbanks and I thought it was funny to put trash in each other’s stuff. I guess ridiculous flirting is also part of the courtship process. After finishing a power bar while on a school trip, Husbanks deposited the wrapper in my jacket pocket, so I put it in his drum case, so he put it in my purse, so I put it in his car …

On our official “first date,” Husbanks gave the wrapper back to me, framed. It’s still in our house today.

Katie is really REALLY good about taking pictures. Why didn’t I ask her to take a picture of us on the night of our “first date?” Because that would have been creepy. Anyway, here is a picture of us circa 2003. Look at those kids!

Husbanks, want to hit “The Pea” tonight? I’ll pay.

  1. #1 by Beth on September 13, 2010 - 7:12 pm

    Aww, happy anniversary! That’s a great story 🙂

  2. #2 by b on September 13, 2010 - 10:17 pm

    it’s funny to see you say that you were friends, because the way -I- remember it, it was more like you had a huge crush on/were stalking him during that time!

  3. #3 by hilstreet on September 13, 2010 - 10:41 pm

    Few truer statements have been made, Bryan.

  4. #4 by Katie on September 13, 2010 - 11:52 pm

    HOORAY for the power bar, first date AND the brown hooded sweatshirt and grey comfy pants! these are all fond memories of 22D along with so many others.

    and thanks for the shout out, what was i THINKING not taking a picture of you two? we could’ve played it off with you saying “my creepy roommate likes to document EVERYTHING, just smile and amuse her” shoot kate. at least no one told him about you spazzing, jumping across two beds in gin and i’s room and almost spraining your ankle when you first talked to him until AFTER you were engaged. i mean … what? that didn’t happen …

  5. #5 by Ginny on September 14, 2010 - 8:50 am

    Did the PowerBar wrapper ever make it to the mailbox?

  6. #6 by hilstreet on September 14, 2010 - 10:30 am

    Imagine if you would have told me that I would be pregnant with his baby in ten years. What would my reaction have been in the year 2000? How many ankles would I have sprung?

    He was so dreamy then.

    In the year 2000 …

Leave a Reply

