I Do Not Believe in Pregnancy Brain

Here we go again. I am going to have all the crazies on the BabyCenter message boards pissed at me for a second time. But I can’t help it.

I do not believe in pregnancy brain.

Don’t get me wrong – I can’t remember anything.  Ask my coworkers. And I’d love to have a medical condition to blame it on.

But I don’t think I’m forgetting everything because the baby is “sucking my brain power.” I don’t think it’s because the baby is “taking brain cells from me.”  No chemical change has happened to me because I still have brain power. I can quickly recite all the diapers for which I have done research. I can tell you exactly who recommended the “My Breast Friend” to me and why. I could probably even tell you where we were when those people recommended it.

I am studying pregnancy, birthing, and breast-feeding books more intently and at a faster pace than I studied for Church History. And that class was interesting. The Protestant Reformation was really wild.

I digress.

I am still smart.

I am just focusing elsewhere, people.  I am going to give birth. I don’t know how this baby will change my family. I don’t know if this baby is healthy. I don’t know what labor will be like.  I don’t know what it will be like to bring a baby home to meet my animals. Those thoughts sweep all my other thoughts with it. Those thoughts take brain power away from me remembering what time you and I were going to have lunch. And for that I am sorry.

But I don’t spend most of my thoughts worrying. I spend a lot of my thoughts planning. The room, the clothes, the registry.

But I don’t spend most of my thoughts planning. I spend most of my thoughts daydreaming. I think about the moment the baby arrives.  I think about bringing it home. I think about its baptism.

People will smirk and say, “you don’t get your brain back after you have kids.” EXACTLY. That’s why “pregnancy brain” doesn’t exist. Changing your focus does.

So I’m not dumb. I’m just more preoccupied than I have ever been. This is the most challenging thing I have ever done, so I am going to think about it. And I’ve even ridden a mule down the Grand Canyon.

  1. #1 by Jennifer on August 16, 2010 - 11:00 am

    OMG. You are totally right. I love this new way of thinking. I am still smart! I may be entirely forgetful, not nearly as proficient at my job as I was pre-baby, and often weeks behind on current events. . . but I know the all the best preschools in Austin, which kids sports leagues are good and which are unorganized (and when registration opens and closes for each league each season). I know — in depth — both sides of the “should I immunize” debate and lots and lots about how little kids ears’ work (and malfunction). And I know what makes little boys laugh and how to make their scrapes feel better. You made my day. Love you, Hil.

  2. #2 by hilstreet on August 16, 2010 - 8:40 pm

    Jennifer – you are smart. Glad I could make your day better 🙂

  3. #3 by Lacy on August 17, 2010 - 9:24 pm

    I love this! You are so wise.

Leave a Reply

