Another Open Letter to My Baby: Ben Folds

Hello, baby.

I have been pregnant with you for almost six months. You are the length of an ear of corn. Speaking of ears …

In recent a development, you now have ears and can hear. You can hear me, you can hear your father, and you can hear music. And we’ve already talked about music. You should understand by now that music is important. And one such artist is very important.

Since you got ears, you’ve been listening to Ben Folds, a capella Ben Folds, and me singing Ben Folds. When you are out in the world and old enough to hear his lyrics, I’ll share Ben Folds music with you again. And it will bring up a lot of questions about relationships and religion and drug use and foreign policy, but I’ll still share Ben Folds with you. I’m willing to take that chance.

-Mom

  1. #1 by husbanks on July 26, 2010 - 11:11 am

    “They took ’em in Tokyo, and I brought ’em back with me to the U.S.A.!!!”

  2. #2 by Steph Brown on July 26, 2010 - 10:44 pm

    “Hiroshima…”…. I love, love, LOVE your open letters to your baby. You and husbanks will make kick-ass parents.

Leave a Reply

