An Open Letter to Good Pops

Hello, Good Pops.

I am pregnant. And in pregnancy I have developed many new cravings.

1. Waffle House – Luckily, the über-unhealthy Waffle House in Austin is 14 miles from my house. I crave their pecan waffles, smothered and covered hash browns, and their bacon, egg and cheese biscuit. Other than the gas money, it’s a minor investment of about $15.00 for Husbanks and me to eat there.

2. Sweets – I disliked sweets so much before! I always refused cake at birthday parties and was overcome with questions about what P90X/South Beach/Atkins craze I was a part of. Nope. Never been on a carb-less diet. Just didn’t crave sweets. Icing made me nauseous to think about.

Now I buy ice cream and bake cakes so I always have something sweet on hand. I take trips to Mighty Fine for milkshakes. Husbanks has commented that I am finally his dream woman.

3. Sweet with Spicy – This is where you come in, Good Pops. No one has nailed this craving quite like you. For a pregnant woman in the summer, nothing beats your Mango Chile popsicle. It cools you down in the heat, and gives you satisfaction for your sweet tooth while inviting a bite of spice. Thank you, Good Pops. And thank you Deirdre and Emilie for bringing the Mango Chile popsicle into my life.

If there is a “Pregnant Austin Woman” magazine, you should buy an ad and make the ad a picture of the Mango Chile popsicle. OR hand out samples at Babies ‘R’ Us. We will come flocking.

You’re welcome.

  1. #1 by Laura Flores on July 19, 2010 - 5:17 pm

    The mango chile is quite unique Hilary. That is why we are happy to share it with you and the rest of the world! Thank you!

  2. #2 by b on July 19, 2010 - 10:16 pm

    lisa says she’s got you beat – she craves Ethiopian food

    • #3 by husbanks on July 20, 2010 - 8:17 am

      Maybe Good Pops should make an Ethiopian food flavor???

  3. #4 by hilstreet on July 20, 2010 - 8:26 am

    Brian – During the first trimester, I had curry for most meals. Ryan called our baby “Baby Patel.”

    I thought 14 miles to Waffle House was a trip, but Ethiopia is much further.

    I have never had Ethiopian food, but there are a couple places in Austin that people love. Ask Lisa what I should order.

  4. #5 by b on July 20, 2010 - 10:25 am

    doro watt!

  5. #6 by Deirdre Walsh on July 26, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    So glad you and “baby patel” like Good Pops.

Leave a Reply

