Another Open Letter to My Baby: Generations

Hello, baby.

Your father and I don’t know what it will be like to be parents. We know what our parents are like, but we won’t learn how to be parents until to you teach us.

Two years ago, I lost a parent. It’s hard to be pregnant and not share that news with my father. While I know all grandparents are lovely, my father was a pediatrician, so I like to think he would have been the most lovely grandparent to you.

I have had two dreams where I told my father that I am pregnant with you. In one of the dreams I also gave birth to a baby entirely made of cellophane. So that really ruined the spiritual aspect of it. But, it was nice to have a few minutes with my dad again.

Life is a circle, baby. And life poses a lot of questions and answers. Someday you will lose us, and you will think about these same things for your baby. Someday, your baby will lose you. It sucks to grow up, but new beginnings are so amazing, humans keep doing it again and again. Enjoy those you love. Appreciate the highs and the lows – God is most obvious there.

I can’t wait to tell you stories about my dad.

-Mom

  1. #1 by Erin Young on June 29, 2010 - 3:28 pm

    On the first day at my new job, the admin asked if I wanted a box of tissues at my desk and I was like “meh, who needs tissues?” Foolish!

    Signed,
    Your teary-eyed reader 🙂

  2. #2 by hilstreet on June 29, 2010 - 3:35 pm

    What is your new job?

    • #3 by Erin Young on June 29, 2010 - 10:05 pm

      Still a User Experience person. I’m at Charles Schwab now. I am consulting so I change jobs more often than most! 🙂 Congrats, BTW!

  3. #4 by Lacy on June 29, 2010 - 3:44 pm

    Great letter. This is a wonderful thing you will be so happy to share with your baby.

  4. #5 by hilstreet on June 30, 2010 - 8:48 am

    Say Hi to Husbanks, Erin. He’s in the 401k group (did I say that right?).

  5. #6 by Beth on June 30, 2010 - 2:23 pm

    Oh Hilary, I wasn’t aware that your father had passed away, I’m so sorry. This is a beautiful letter to your baby, and I know you’re going to have amazing stories to tell your little one about your dad. 🙂

  6. #7 by Erin Young on June 30, 2010 - 9:08 pm

    Wow!! What does husbanks do? Is he a financial dude? That is so neat.

  7. #8 by Ginny on June 30, 2010 - 10:34 pm

    I love this. (And I have a huge knot in my throat).

  8. #9 by Becky on July 2, 2010 - 3:42 am

    Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

