Another Story from My Mom’s Non-Technology Playbook: DVDs

Technomom called me last week all in a tizzy. She asked if I could have Husbanks to call her immediately because she needed to know how to play a DVD.

  • I reminded her that even though I am a woman, I can and do work in the technology industry and know a thing or two about cables.
  • I asked her if she considered looking behind the TV to see where the cable running to the DVD was hooked up, but this turned into a minor freak out about ever having to move the TV and set it back up again.
  • In the middle of the conversation, she said, “Oh no. You are on crazy voice. How do I turn that off? Can you hear me? Do I sound crazy?” She meant “speaker phone.” She had put me on speaker phone.

A few minutes later, I received the following voice message. This is a quote:

“Oh … I did it! I can play a DVD! It is so complicated, but I did it! I got the picture first and then the sound!”

  1. #1 by Andria on June 30, 2010 - 10:13 pm

    I actually got to listen to this voicemail. It is real! Technomom really does exist!

  2. #2 by Becky on July 2, 2010 - 3:43 am

    Oh Harriet. I miss her!

  3. #3 by weslie Moore on July 2, 2010 - 10:38 am

    In defense of your mother, every conference call I’ve listened in on that was on speaker phone was pretty crazy.

Leave a Reply

