Pre-Bump/Post-Weight Gain Maternity Style Tips

I drive Husbanks’ grandfather’s car. We had Husbanks’ faux-wood watched-since-the-first-grade TV until March. Our bedrooms are filled with hand-me-down furniture. If you have slept at our house, you probably slept on used sheets (ew?). Ryan rode 65 miles on a 1986 Trek road bike.

Husbanks and I are used people. Creating new things from natural resources make us nervous. I know that this is downright unAmerican. We do realize we are not helping the recession at all.

And thanks to MorganKelly, and Lacy, my closet is already half full of maternity fashions!  Borrowing is key. I already have a list of baby items that are on their way to our house. Some will be pink and some will be blue. All will be functional regardless of the sex of our baby, so we are sold. I mean – we have a used diaper genie (thanks, Jen). Clearly, we are sewius about reuse.

I also have another dear friend to thank for sharing: fashion-blogger Jenn. She writes Daisies and Chains, a must-follow.

I shared my challenge with Jenn: I don’t look cute when I go to work because my outfits have only two goals, and cute is neither of them: Goal 1) Cover My Body, Goal 2) Don’t Pinch My Swelling Feet.

She sent me the following tips to help my clothes stretch with me because I can’t fit in my normal clothes, but my borrowed maternity clothes are a long way off. I’m all about the sundresses at this point. Here are some clever tips (not the usual Bella Band solution) for when you are at the in-between stage:

  • Tunic shirts and shorter dresses that you already own can become regular-length tops over jeans and (sometimes) leggings.
  • Which also drives the point that leggings might become your best friend.
  • Does your husband have Oxford shirts? If so, throw one of those on, roll up the sleeves and belt it (with a belt or wide ribbon) right underneath your chest.
  • Which drives the point that empire waists will be your second BFF.
  • Buy a Mexican dress. They really are making a comeback.
  • And just so you know, Jenn is not against unbuttoning your pants/jeans as long as your top covers the button and zippers. Keep it classy, Hil Street.
  1. #1 by Ginny on June 8, 2010 - 8:43 pm

    Can I request a picture? Please?? 🙂

  2. #2 by tarathronson on June 9, 2010 - 1:18 am

    Good tips…I need them on the ramp down. If you do go with the keeping the pants unbuttoned, I suggest “buttoning” with a rubber band. Even if the shirt is long enough to cover…you don’t want them to almost fall down, I had that problem at work once…jumped up too quickly and was a close call. 🙂

  3. #3 by hilstreet on June 9, 2010 - 8:07 am

    Woah, Tara! That is a close call!

    Gin – I really don’t have a belly yet. It’s subtle at best. I am more bloated in the evenings so I can take a picture then – ha! I’ll probably take one at 20 weeks.

  4. #4 by Katie on June 11, 2010 - 10:40 am

    LOVE the tips!!! and yes, leggings and empire waists are defiantely your best friend.

Leave a Reply

