Things I Learned during My First Charity Bike Ride

1. Maybe this is my sport?

We all know I am not a runner, so I assumed I wasn’t an athlete. But maybe I am. Cycling might be my thing. I made it up “the really steep hill” that everyone was afraid of during the ride. I was very proud of myself!

2. Show me the money.

The ride raised over $601,000 to provide care for those in Central Texas with AIDS! Thanks for your support.

3. I need new outlook. A positive one.

This ride was about the love I fight to support, not the anger and hostility I feel when I am confronted with the injustice of the opposite. Love should be my motivation.

4. They make peppermint Luna bars.

We were too weirded out to try them.

5. At the finish line, the ride organizer and AIDS care advocate, David Smith, congratulated each runner with a medal.

Justin …

Hil …

Husbanks …

Chris (beautiful even after 45 miles in the Texas heat!) …

  1. #1 by husbanks on May 13, 2010 - 11:50 am

    Hooray for the HCR4A!

    “Hey. Were do you ladies live?”

  2. #2 by tarathronson on May 14, 2010 - 1:24 pm

    Congrats! You all look fantastic! And to think you made it up that hill while preggers!!!

    btw, I eat the peppermint-chocolate luna bars often, they are delicious!

  3. #3 by hilstreet on May 14, 2010 - 7:24 pm

    6. I am tough enough to complete a bike ride with morning sickness.

    Tara – I am glad to hear they are delicious! Maybe the morning sickness caused an aversion.

Leave a Reply

