Happy Earth Day!

In honor of Earth Day, check out the column I wrote for our company’s employee newsletter:

Green Your Commute

In August 2008, I purchased a new set of wheels – a commuter bike. Complete with faux leather “interior” and a basket for my bag, this mode of transportation has proven very effective in getting me to and from work. I enjoy riding to work (it’s only 1.2 miles – don’t consider me a Green Hero), and I get a teeny bit of exercise in the process. I love to multitask.

On top of my teeny bit of exercise, I now fill up my Honda Civic every other week instead of every 10 days. 1.2 miles isn’t a lot of mileage, so if an engineer can explain why I am saving that much gas money, I’m all ears.

I have my limits though. I don’t ride my bike if I have plans after work far away or if it’s rainy. I don’t want to sit at my desk soaking wet.

There is a down side to my chosen pedal power. Other than use for my 1.2 mile commute to NI, the bike is pretty useless. It’s heavy, and only has three speeds, which makes it less than ideal for Central Texas hills. I had to borrow a real road bike from colleague Veronica Garza to participate in this weekend’s Hill Country Ride for AIDS.

But I think it’s worth it, because it’s SUPER CUTE.

  1. #1 by Katie on April 22, 2010 - 8:49 am

    i wish i could ride my bike to work! maybe it would with the diet of pizza i’ve been consuming …

    and how nice to be so close to home and be able to eat lunch there 🙂

Leave a Reply

