Hil Street’s Hill Country Ride for AIDS

I’m finally becoming an Austinite. I’m participating in a cycling event.

Saturday, April 24, Husbanks and I will participate in the Hill Country Ride for AIDS, a very hilly bicycle ride through the beautiful Texas Hill Country. We’re riding with our United Methodist church’s team. The ride is defined as “challenging.” Oops.

Still deciding what bike to take. I should probably borrow one. But if I took my commuter bike – I’d be super cute! Tired, but super cute.

Husbanks and I each have a goal to raise $500 through this ride to help provide care for those living in Central Texas with AIDS. Donations go to 10 Austin community AIDS care organizations.

Because Hil Street is a family blog, I won’t leave Husbanks out. Let’s split it boys vs. girls. If you are a boy and you want to donate, please donate to Husbanks’ webpage. Ladies – head over to my page. Think of us as we huff and puff during this challenging, hilly ride.  And think of me if I take my commuter bike because I will have to lug all of our church members’ sunscreen bottles and cameras because I’ll be the one with the basket. Oops.

Another reason to borrow a bike.

Happy thoughts, prayers, blog posts, and/or donations appreciated. Thank you.

Ladies: To donate online for Hil’s 45-mile Hill Country Ride for AIDS, click here.

Boys: To donate online for Husbanks’ 65-mile Hill Country Ride for AIDS, click here.

  1. #1 by Amanda on April 5, 2010 - 2:58 pm

    How exciting! I bet you will have a blast doing the ride with a group.

    How many miles are you riding? I would probably borrow a bike because the “rolling hills” will seem like mountains with only one gear.

  2. #2 by Another HM on April 10, 2010 - 11:21 am

    I have a bike you can borrow. Seriously. Its hot pink, so you would still be super cute.

  1. Texas Bicycling Blog and News Roundup for April 5th « Texbiker.net

Leave a Reply

