Gmail Freaks Me Out

I don’t like how much Gmail knows what I am doing. Freaks me out when it knows I love Tara or that I am struggling in yoga. Freaks me out.

Also makes me a little jealous. Every time I search for something, Google uses that information to build a profile for companies who want to market to people like me. It’s smart and I am jealous that I make their lives so successful when I google things like “dropped Blackberry in oven what next” or “can border collies eat almonds.” Freaks me out.

And look at this!

Gmail noticed I typed the word “attached” in an email and asked where my attachment was. Doesn’t need to be an actual attachment, Gmail. Maybe I am just attached to Tara.

Stop being a spying robot, Google. You know I am writing this, don’t you? Leave me alone.

Freaks me out.

  1. #1 by emiliekopp on March 26, 2010 - 3:59 pm

    Every time you send an email or search a topic, the Google grows stronger. Mwa ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

  2. #2 by Beth on March 29, 2010 - 7:52 pm

    That is sort of creepy…

    I hate how gmail stacks emails if I forward/reply all to different groups of people. I never can tell if I’m forwarding the intended email, or if someone is getting the giant response from the whole group. (Do you think gmail just heard me say that?)

  3. #3 by hilstreet on March 30, 2010 - 8:30 am

    Beth, Gmail knows. Watch the upcoming ads, they will reflect your comment.

    We are only making it stronger.

  4. #4 by Suz on March 30, 2010 - 10:38 pm

    I just noticed Amazon has started doing this too. I ordered some vegan cookbooks and upon checkout Amazon helpfully recommended a couple “weight management services in Tucson”…THANKS AMAZON.

Leave a Reply

