Things I Want to Do with Colin

I’m headed to Louisville this week to spend some much-needed time with Ellie (belated birthday trip) and to meet Colin for the first time (technically also a belated birthday trip). Jill, Steph, and Ellie all got to hang out this weekend with li’l boys Colin and Ethan and I am jealous!

Sidenote: This has nothing to do with Colin. I can’t wait to be cold. Ryan and I just returned from 75 degree weather in the Rio Grande Valley, and it’s supposed to be like 50 degrees today. Gimme some winter, Louisville!

Here is the list of things I can’t wait to do when I meet Colin:

1. Hold him. I have no idea what it feels like to hold Colin. How heavy is he? How squirmy is he? What does his hair smell like? I can’t wait to find out!

2. Learn how to give a baby a bath. I have never bathed a baby. Ellie, will you teach me? I feel inadequate.

3. Learn how to change a diaper. I have only changed a diaper a few times in my life. Will you remind me, Ellie? I’ve offered to babysit twin babies for a couple at my church and I realize how unqualified I am for that job.

4. Try baby food. No really – what is this “Chicken Dinner?” Let me try it, Colin, and I’ll tell you how it compares to the real deal.

5. Make a mobile of Will’s face. Will has been in Vancouver for several weeks. I want to make Colin a mobile of his pictures like Ross did on Friends.

6. Pick Colin out of a line up. Before I am tasked with any of the above challenges, I am going to pick Colin out from all the babies at daycare.  Have my studies of Colin pictures and video footage prepared me? We will see during the final test.

  1. #1 by Ingrid on February 24, 2010 - 11:27 am

    I think you will be a natural! Have an awesome time!

  2. #2 by Lacy on February 24, 2010 - 2:39 pm

    A few comments.

    1. You have not offered to babysit my twins. Just sayin’.
    2. Had I any idea you wanted to learn all of these things, I would have given you the chance when you came for dinner a few weeks ago! After you visit Colin you must come back to visit Charlie and Weston and change their diapers, bathe them, change their clothes while they try to roll over, etc.
    3. Have a great trip!

  3. #3 by Weslie on February 24, 2010 - 7:28 pm

    I would like to know how chicken dinner compares. Please keep me looped in.

  4. #4 by Steph Brown on February 24, 2010 - 7:31 pm

    Have a great time Hil! I know Ellie is super excited to have you come visit them. 🙂

  5. #5 by Julia on February 25, 2010 - 3:21 am

    hold him close, enjoy the smell of a baby (most of the time) :), have fun with the diaper training (only took me like 30 to get the hang), and have even more fun with the bath! Their expressions in a tub are priceless 🙂

  6. #6 by Sarah H on February 25, 2010 - 11:16 pm

    I just wanted to make a crack about how you’re going to have babies first. just sayin 🙂

  7. #7 by Sean on February 26, 2010 - 9:54 pm

    You can babysit Katie whenever you like! 🙂

  8. #8 by Ellie on March 1, 2010 - 11:41 am

    7. Get an Olympic Cold while here for the weekend. 😦 I’m so sorry.

    8. Experience the joys of teething. Again, so sorry.

    9. Have a near-brush with disaster with a missing paci 100 miles away from home. WHEW! That could have been a loud, long trip back to Louisville.

    So, so, so glad you came. I really enjoyed having you here with me this last weekend. I hope you’re feeling better real soon. My freezer’s stocked with yummy dinners and I’m grateful for your friendship and company!

Leave a Reply

