Suzie

There are benefits to growing up in a suburb. Small-town life doesn’t offer excitement or diversity, but it does offer a strong sense of tradition and loyalty. I carried these themes with me all my young life, and I am glad for it.

Growing up in a simple suburb, my mom and I always went to the same beauty shop. Suzie and Mary Beth cut our hair and painted our toes and became close family friends. Through funerals, weddings, gossip, babies, and general ups-and-downs, these ladies were family.

When the time came for my wedding, Suzie and Mary Beth were invited of course, and they took care of the wedding party. They didn’t charge the bride (me) for nails or hair simply saying “this is just part of the deal.” “The deal,” I am sure, was our friendship. Mom and I weren’t clients … we were friends that they happened to find through their work.

Two weeks ago. Suzie died suddenly of a heart-attack. I hope she wasn’t scared or uncomfortable before she died.  In comforting her widower, my mom realized how much she hopes she can be a comfort to others.  All too often in the past year, mom and I have looked through my wedding album looking for good times with friends lost. Death is a part of life, but that doesn’t mean death isn’t hard.

Suzie was kind, and our simple friendship at the hometown beauty shop is something I’ll never forget. God bless you, Suzie.

  1. #1 by Sarah on February 10, 2010 - 8:58 am

    Sorry to hear about your friend Hil 😦 I hope you have a sunny day today.

  2. #2 by Katie on February 10, 2010 - 3:44 pm

    this gave me chill bumps hil. so sorry about suzie. glad your momma could be of comfort to her widow.

Leave a Reply

