Why Basketball is More Fun to Watch than Football (Them’s Fightin’ Words!)

I realize I live in Texas where football reigns supreme. But I’m not a Texan. I grew up watching Big 8 basketball two nights a week, and I won’t deny the thrill the game gives me. It’s deep in my soul. Here are my reasons:

1. Weather.

You enjoy watching basketball in climate controlled arenas protecting you from the Arctic Blasts.

2. Pep Band.

Without the challenge of weather or marching, these kids can throw down some awesome tunes, complete with a drum kit.

3. Equality.

Other than Liz Lemon’s White Haven, PA kicking career, I haven’t noticed many opportunities to watch ladies play football. With basketball, I get all the choices. After all, Husbanks’ parents do live off the Marsha Sharp Freeway.

4. More Opportunities to Watch.

There are games on all the time! Just your team will play 2-3 times a week.

5. Hypothetical Situations.

I have a couple friends (you know who you two are), who love to make assumptions with me. We will assume one thing about someone and then let that spiral out of control. We make so many assumptions based on unverified information that Pretend Land gets pretty ridiculous.

This is what happens when you turn in your March Madness bracket. By the time you get to the Sweet 16, your bracket has games that won’t even happen (Blair’s family recalibrates after the Sweet 16).

6. The Fists Don’t Fly.

There are fights in basketball, sure, but it’s still less a brutal game than football, hockey, wrestling, the Neiman’s Last Call Wedding Dress sale, or roller derby.

7. The Last Four Minutes

Basketball is fast paced! Nothing gets your heart pounding like the last four minutes of a close basketball game. The ball changes possession every few seconds. Everyone has a chance to change the game – immediately. Back and forth, back and forth.

Football requires driving the ball down the field and waiting for first downs. That takes patience. Sure, there is the passing game, but I’ve usually been so bored that by that point that I’ve downed a couple 6-point beers you Texans speak of and I’m already sleepy.

8. They Can Hear You.

I remember Kevin, an LSU football fan to the max, explaining his LSU basketball game experience:

“They can actually hear you.”

Oh yes, trash talk happens inside in an intimate setting. Want to tell that “sack of crap” to “get on the bench?” Want someone to notice their “air ball?” Speak up, kids. The players are all ears (but don’t get punched).

  1. #1 by Steph Brown on January 13, 2010 - 10:08 am

    Awesome post Hil! I am with you all the way about the love for basketball.

  2. #2 by Husbanks on January 13, 2010 - 10:12 am

    I’m on the fence. I think you made some valid arguments, and I loves me some sweet JAMS!!!! (and yelling JAM!!! after said sweet JAMZZZZ!!!!), but I love yelling at an opposing quarterback following an awesome sack as much, if not more.

    I’ll have to pray about this one.

    BTW…How about them Bears! Go BU!

  3. #3 by Sarah H on January 13, 2010 - 11:12 am

    I agree with Husbanks–you make some valid points. But I can’t help how much I love football.

  4. #4 by b on January 13, 2010 - 11:17 am

    you seen Britney Griner play yet? Now there’s some entertainment!

  5. #5 by mirelesminute on January 13, 2010 - 10:39 pm

    What about #9…good ideas to name your dog?

  6. #6 by Morgan on January 14, 2010 - 11:58 am

    If I knew more about sports, I would have an insightful comment. Until then, I side with Hilary because I like her best.

Leave a Reply

