Happy Epiphany!

Happy Epiphany! Are your Wise Men finally inched next to the Baby Jesus in your Nativity scene? Am I the only person who has my Nativity scene and Christmas tree still out? Aaron … you with me?

It’s fun to remember why we celebrate Epiphany. It’s the day little baby Jesus was discovered. It’s the day we think about the Magi searching to see if King Herod’s rumor was true. Was a king born? In Bethlehem? As a little baby? It seemed so unlikely and counter-intuitive. Ah, one of the many mysteries that keep me on my toes.

And the reason I get to keep my Christmas decorations up for so long! Ah, the liturgical calendar provides so much.

Can you imagine humble Mother Mary and simple Carpenter Joseph getting all fussed over with gifts from Zoroastrian Priests? Maybe Jesus and his family felt this way when the Magi arrived:

Epiphany LOL Cat!

  1. #1 by Aaron on January 6, 2010 - 9:55 am

    Hil — we do indeed still have the nativity and most of the christmas decorations still up. word on the street is that you are preaching this sunday — so am i. i would challenge you to a sermon throwdown, but i am sure that is irreverent in some form or fashion.

    • #2 by hilstreet on January 6, 2010 - 10:13 am

      My sermon is really tough! It’s about the American Dream vs. God’s Dream. I will wag my finger. People will cry.

      It’s going to be awesome!

      I hope you know I am being sarcastic.

      Are you preaching from the lectionary?

      • #3 by Aaron on January 6, 2010 - 11:39 am

        ummm — my sermon is about existential doubt. i don’t think that i even need to write any more about it to let you know that my sermon has intellectual superiority to yours.

        and i do know you are being sarcastic, as i hope you can gather from me as well.

        i am not preaching from the lectionary either. i am actually sermon-recycling from one i preached a little over a month ago on campus.

  2. #4 by Katie on January 6, 2010 - 9:59 am

    I love the LOL cat. And that you still have your Christmas decorations up. If I were married to someone like you I don’t think they’d EVER come down. But, alas, Matt lays down the law (I almost said “puts the smack down” … and thought “that can’t be right?”) and says after the 1st, they must come down. Happy Epiphany, today is the first time I’ve ever heard of it (does that make me a terrible Christian?)

    • #5 by hilstreet on January 6, 2010 - 10:12 am

      Katie – it makes you a terrible United Methodist. Which you are not, so we are all good!

      That was me putting the “smack down” on your Methodism.

  3. #6 by Another HM on January 6, 2010 - 10:02 am

    I still have the decorations up! JM wanted them to come down, and has refused to plug the lights in, but its still up. They are coming down tonight.(*tear*) How many more days until Christmas?-HM

  4. #7 by hilstreet on January 6, 2010 - 10:06 am

    If anyone still had decorations up, it’d be “confirmation-teachin” HM!

  5. #8 by hilstreet on January 6, 2010 - 2:20 pm

    Aaron – Your doubt sermon is on your blog, yes? I have seen it for many weeks now. You are getting on Lacy’s blog schedule.

    ha ha – How many Rohres can I insult in one comment?

    Reduce, Reuse, Sermon-Recycle,
    Hilary

    • #9 by Aaron on January 6, 2010 - 4:53 pm

      indeed it is on my blog. so you already know of its superiority, otherwise you would have posted yours….or something like that…

      and it takes me a while to write such long and eloquent posts.

  6. #10 by Suz on January 6, 2010 - 8:58 pm

    Happy Three Kings Day! Did Caspar, Melchior, and Balthasar make it safely? We usually leave our decorations up but had to take the tree own early before it became a fire hazard!

Leave a Reply

