Six.

Over Thanksgiving, Ryan and I met up with my childhood best friend. Travis and I were neighbors growing up and had most of our classes together. Our evening was so much fun. We ate at chain-restaurant-king Chili’s and rented Spice World to make it a true 1990s high school night. Only thing missing was Ellie and Jill.

While out, Travis handed me a mini VHS. On it? Ryan and my wedding. Travis’ mom had recorded the ceremony from her hand-held video camera (this was pre-USB flip cam, Millennials). She lost then found the recording and gave it to Travis to hand to us. I have never watched any recording from my wedding. Isn’t that crazy to think I have it now?

This weekend is our six-year wedding anniversary. We’ll watch the wedding for the first time. I have no idea what my reaction will be. Will I feel like I am watching someone else’s wedding? Will it be in focus? Will the sound work? Did Whitney and Jonathan sing in tune? Did Stacie’s dress look shiny and new after the third big event? Can I handle watching my father walk me down the aisle?

Why has this recording been lost for so long?

Answer: People are not patient. Scripture and proverbs from many traditions tell us to be patient but earthly curiosities and desires get the best of us. Rumor has it: Patience is a virtue. If I had this recording before Thanksgiving 2009, I would have watched it and it would have been nice … but now it means a lot.

In my youth I was not a patient girl. Jumping from experience to experience was my forte. Twice now in my grown-up life, significant things have come to me in later time than I wanted (Sarah H. knows). I now see that waiting is a gift. I had to wait to see that.

If I would have had this video immediately … I would have watched it immediately. Glad I didn’t. Watching this video after six years is going to give me a glimpse of my life and family that I have forgotten. I’ll need a glass of wine and some tissues, but it will be a blessing.

And really funny to see us all young and acting sewius during our vows. I mean … really? Do kids know what marriage has in store? Noooooooo.

Love you, Husbanks. Can’t wait to travel back in time with you this weekend. You are a more and more wonderful husband everyday, but I bet you look cute in that wedding video.

  1. #1 by Lacy on December 10, 2009 - 11:00 am

    You should ask Aaron what he did during our vows…he laughed when he said “for richer or poorer” b/c we were so stinkin’ poor at the time! He outright laughed…

  2. #2 by Sarah H on December 10, 2009 - 11:47 am

    Happy Anniversary Hil and Ryan! I would love to watch that with you sometime 🙂 I’m glad that Travis’s mom found it, and I’m glad it’s at the right time. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. #3 by Husbanks on December 10, 2009 - 11:49 am

    Wow. Six years in the blink of an eye. Wouldn’t trade it for anything. Love you, Osburn.

  4. #4 by b on December 10, 2009 - 2:47 pm

    happy versary! I still remember driving up icy I-35 w/ Joe after having come from Phil & Kelley’s wedding, and crashing in Jonny G’s hotel room that night.

    fun times

  5. #5 by Blake Sunshine on December 10, 2009 - 3:18 pm

    Don’t worry at your next big event I’ll be there with a flip cam.

  6. #6 by Sarah on December 11, 2009 - 8:45 am

    hooray! happy anniversarary Osbankseseses! what an amazing and timely blessing to have that precious video in your hands finally. have fun this weekend. love to you both…

  7. #7 by Ellie on December 11, 2009 - 2:38 pm

    Oh, wow – this is going to be such a trip! My mom still talks about the HUGE grin you had on your face walking down the aisle after the ceremony. “She was the happiest bride I’ve ever seen!”. Happiest wishes to you and Husbanks!

Leave a Reply

