What New Babies Need …

I’m in that phase of life where my friends are having babies all the time. I host baby showers at least monthly with my trusty companion, Sarah H. I recently purchased a punch bowl because, hey, let’s admit the facts here. Punch is a baby shower must-have and it doesn’t serve itself. And I got too nervous continually borrowing the official punchbowl from the Southwest Texas United Methodist Church Conference.

Baby showers are important because they prepare the mother for what she physically needs to take care of a new life. It shows the support of family and friends all pitching in a little bit to make a grand nursery possible (many stylish items you can find at Two Blue Peas).

And, as Sarah H. says, “every baby deserves a party!”

Another way to support your pregnant friends is through prayer. Julia’s son, Braden, was born Thursday at 28 weeks. Her strong network of family and friends have been sending thoughts and love for the past seven weeks as she has been in the hospital. Prayer is important because it prepares a mother-to-be for the spiritual peace needed to take care of a new life.

Another way to support friends with new babies is to bring them food after the baby is born.  Many new mothers receive the lasagna below from me. It’s the best lasagna I have ever tasted (it’s real ‘marican). Make it for a mother-to-be today! Or, enjoy it yourself.

Kevin’s Favorite Lasagna

1 lb ground beef

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

28 oz (1 Jar) roasted red pepper pasta sauce

3 Tbsp. Sugar

Salt and pepper

2 Tbsp. red wine (optional)

1 can chicken stock

8 oz cream cheese, softened

2 Tbsp. white wine (optional – I mean, when do you have red AND white wine open?)

8 oz freshly grated mozzarella

6 to 8 no-boil lasagna noodles (enough to cover area of dish)

2 C steamed, well-drained spinach

1 C freshly grated parmesan

6 slices white American cheese

Heat oven to 400. Grease a 9 x 13 inch pan. Thoroughly cook the ground beef, garlic, and herbs in a large skillet, stirring frequently and breaking up the meat. Drain fat. Stir in pasta sauce and sugar and bring to a simmer for about two minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper and add the red wine, if using. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, bring chicken stock to a boil. Add softened, cubed cream cheese, turn heat to low, and whisk until smooth (about six minutes). Season to taste and add the white wine, if using.

Spoon half the meat sauce into the pan as evenly as possible. Sprinkle one-third of the grated mozzarella over the meat mixture. Top with three or four lasagna noodles. Spread spinach evenly over the noodles.

Pour the cream cheese sauce over the noodles and cover with another one-third of the of grated mozzarella. Arrange three or four lasagna noodles over the cheese, then spoon remaining meat mixture over the noodles as evenly as possible.

Lay all slices of white American cheese on top and then top with the final third of the mozzarella and the grated parmesan. Bake uncovered until brown and bubbling, 35 minutes.

Let cool for 10 to 15 minutes or it will be too gloppy to cut well.

You can make ahead of time, cover, and freeze – just be sure to thaw in the fridge before baking. You’ll bake for 45 minutes if you have made the lasagna in advance and are baking it from the fridge.

  1. #1 by Morgan on December 10, 2009 - 7:56 am

    This lasagna is awesome. Definitely worth having a baby for 🙂

  2. #2 by Sarah on December 10, 2009 - 9:17 am

    Kevin was asking me if I could get him pregnant last night. I’m prettttty sure he’s just using me to get to the lasagna.

  3. #3 by Katie on December 10, 2009 - 9:23 am

    You forgot to mention how at each baby shower, you get asked 542 times when YOU’RE getting pregnant. No? Just me? Seriously, I feel like this question has become equivalent to “How are you?” it’s so frequent with me.

    Speaking of, when are you having a baby? (multiply that by 542) Huh? When? What, you just don’t like babies? Why don’t you like babies? What’s wrong with you, get pregnant already! (kidding, obviously)

    LOVE the lasagna idea Hil, you can make it for me when I have a baby. And don’t ask me when that is. Cause I might go off on you. Ha. But seriously.

  4. #4 by Sarah H on December 10, 2009 - 11:50 am

    Wow that lasagna looks super. I don’t have a new baby standard dish, which is wierd considering how many of my friends are having babies this year. In fact one of them is in labor right now at the hospital. let’s gear up for our next shower, where we can break in (but hopefully not actually break) that punch bowl!

    and to Katie–yes! this is happening all the time to me too!

    oh and I love how I don’t check your blog for a few days and now I’m in all your posts. Love ya Hil!

  5. #5 by Husbanks on December 10, 2009 - 11:52 am

    Kevin’s lasagna is for babies. Sewiusly!

  6. #6 by hilstreet on December 10, 2009 - 11:53 am

    Kate – In 22D predictions, you were supposed to have the babies first. Becky jumped way ahead with Hayden and one on the way.

    Gin and I were waaaay down the line.

    I think you will have babies before me, my dear!

  7. #7 by rebekahjo on December 10, 2009 - 10:32 pm

    Oddly enough, I do have red and white open now. Thanks for the recipe! Now is a good time for comfort food!

  8. #8 by Katie on December 11, 2009 - 9:49 am

    Hil, you are correct. Becky DID steal my thunder. I mean, who does she think she is having ANOTHER one before I even get my first! GRRRRRR. Ha. Well then, I will expect my lasagna promptly at … well I don’t know when, but apparently before you. And Gin. Having babies is for babies … love the shout out to the twins Ryan.

    AND happy wedd-i-versary to you this weekend! I will be thinking of you as I am dying, wheezing and about to pass out running 13.1 miles in the White Rock Half.

Leave a Reply

