Flowchart of Friends

Everyday I email with a group of people, some of whom have never met. It’s a virtual pen-pal group put together by Steph. She sends us trivia every day.

Let’s start the story in Oklahoma. In 8th grade I met my future BFF, Ellie. Ellie and I went off to college in different directions. I moved to Texas and Ellie moved to Tulsa. Ellie went to the University of Tulsa and was a Theta. When she got to Tulsa, she became friends with the GTS (Girls That Smoke): Steph, Ingrid, and Jill. Nicknames were formed and friendships were made. Suz also went to Tulsa and was a Theta. Ellie and Suz met because of Ellie’s ex, John Von … Something (I can never remember).

At Ellie’s wedding, Suz, Steph, Jill, Ellie, and me bonded at Table 3 (and Will and Husbanks, but they are not part of this story, OK?). But we need to back up again …

After college, Suz moved to Seattle and Husbanks’ and I introduced Suz to his sister’s A&M college roommate, Amy. Suz and Amy became friends, and Suz introduced Amy to her good friend, Weslie. Ryan and I were visiting Stacie and Kyle one year on Suz’s birthday. We met Weslie that day and became fast friends. Suz has since moved to Tuscon and married Bill (Ellie’s brother). And Suz’s brother, Joe, went to school in Austin, so Suz introduced us to him. But back to the core players …

Right now, all the players live across the U.S. Ellie in Louisville. Jill in Rolla, Missouri. Ingrid in OKC. Steph in Tulsa. Suz in Tuscon. Weslie in Seattle. Yours truly in Austin.

Confused? I made a flow chart of who met whom. What? I am in Corporate America. Leave me alone.

flowchart

Point is … this weekend Ellie, Weslie, Jill, Ingrid and I will all go to Vegas to celebrate Stephanie’s birthday! Ingrid – I am excited to meet you. Suz, Weslie, Stephanie, Jill … will I recognize you? Ellie – meet you in baggage claim.

#stephs30th

  1. #1 by Julia on November 12, 2009 - 12:17 am

    Have a blast! Ladies trip to Vegas sounds like exactly what the doctor ordered!

  2. #2 by Weslie on November 12, 2009 - 12:49 am

    I love it and I look forward to meeting you all!

  3. #3 by Suz on November 12, 2009 - 12:55 am

    And then when I met Amy, I thought could it be? Another person to add to my wolfpack?

  4. #4 by Ward on November 12, 2009 - 2:01 am

    Most confusing flowchart ever. And I’m a programmer.

  5. #5 by Ward on November 12, 2009 - 2:02 am

    (and a biologist)

  6. #6 by Ellie on November 12, 2009 - 8:41 am

    Cannot wait to see everyone this weekend! Hil – Ingrid and I will be waiting for you at baggage. Still sober, I hope. 😉

  7. #7 by Steph Brown on November 12, 2009 - 9:35 am

    Hooray!!! Can’t believe it is finally here! See you all tonight/tomorrow. 🙂

  8. #8 by hilstreet on November 13, 2009 - 12:17 am

    LOL Matt – glad I could keep you on your toes!

  9. #9 by Ingrid on November 13, 2009 - 5:55 am

    I am excited to meet you too!

Leave a Reply

