Legacies

A couple weeks ago, a coworker’s wife died. He is an acquaintance of mine – I am not claiming to know he, his family or his community of faith very well.

My coworker is young, and so was his wife, and so are their children.  Instead of giving flowers, or donating money, he asked that you donate to your favorite charity, then write a little letter to his kids about where you donated the money, so that good deeds in his wife’s name could be remembered by her children.  Pretty amazing.

Before our trip to California, one of Husbanks’ closest friends died. John was outgoing and personable and friendly. I am not sure why I haven’t blogged about it yet – guess we’re just processing it.

John was young, and so is his wife, and so are his children. John’s friends are making a book of stories for John’s sons to read when they are older. What a beautiful way to help his young children someday learn about their father’s personality.

I was struck by these positive ways to remember life and family during a time as tragic as untimely death. I wanted to share them. That’s all.

  1. #1 by Suz on October 3, 2009 - 2:57 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about the losses close to you – it’s always hard when you hear about young people leaving families behind. My 1st boss’s wife died 2 years ago of ovarian cancer and was just a few years older than me – I can hardly imagine what he must have gone (and is still going) through.

Leave a Reply

