An ode to my lover

Oh, lover. How I long to see you. In a few days time I will arrive – empty suitcase back at the hotel – ready to ravage you.

See, Husbanks’ parents are taking us to San Francisco. We are staying near Union Square. I will walk to you.

You and I have been together all over the world. Austria with Megan. Boston with Ginny. San Francisco with Trisha. But we haven’t seen each other in a while. Husbanks wonders about your mystique. About your draw. He questions my passion. He doesn’t know why women long for you.

He wants to come with me to visit you.

He doesn’t understand. The initial sweep. The sensory-overloaded joy. Then, the focus. Forcing yourself to stay in one section at a time. The mental discipline of it all is mind-blowing. I don’t think he is going to like seeing me with you. His voice will be come a dull roar as my senses become overpowered while gathering, experiencing, then gathering again.

I don’t understand why you don’t come to Texas. That way, my time with you won’t need to be so intense. So indulgent.

But maybe we women like it that way.

I can’t wait to see you!

Until Friday, H&M. Until then.

Love,
Hil

  1. #1 by Weslie Moore on September 17, 2009 - 12:19 am

    I used to plan my trips to NY and Boston around H&M visits. Since they’ve opened a couple in Seattle, I’ve been twice and HAVEN’T BOUGHT A THING. I’m so ungrateful.

  2. #2 by roadwarriorette on September 17, 2009 - 10:33 am

    I am with you!! I try to set aside a few hours whenever I go to Chicago for that special time….don’t take Husbanks, he would not get it and want to leave after only thirty minutes. And it takes more time than that to do all the things you need to do with H&M…..have a great trip! xo

  3. #3 by Tab on September 17, 2009 - 10:46 am

    I am glad to see that there is another lover of H&M. Diem and I have this plan to orchestrate a girls trip to a fun city solely for the purpose of shopping at H&M. When we get the details figured out I’ll send them to you to see if you want to join. ; )

  4. #4 by hilstreet on September 17, 2009 - 2:06 pm

    IF I want to join? Sign me up!

    Where is the best H&M supposed to be?

  5. #5 by Yvette on September 18, 2009 - 3:10 pm

    I think there’s an H&M coming to Dallas! 🙂

  6. #6 by Lacy on September 21, 2009 - 7:31 pm

    Hope your trip to San Fran was great! I wanna hear all about it. Let’s do lunch sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

