Queen of the Twenties

September birthdays are funny. There are a lot of September birthdays. I have a theory – Christmas, Christmas eggnog, New Year’s celebrations, and New Year’s resolutions make babies. And the babies show up nine months later. In September.

That’s right, folks. I’m 29. I feel older – but not because I am 29. Because this past year has been a whirlwind of change, travel, experience.  And being out of my comfort zone. I have seen more and experienced more and been more uncomfortable in the past year than I have my whole life previous. That’s what makes you grow up.

Some think 29 is old, and some think it is young. In case I felt old, Ryan told me I was the “Queen of the Twenties” to make me feel better.

What I have heard about being 29:
– You are still in your “mid-to-late twenties!” -Emilie
– (concerned face) -Sarah H.

-You are too old to be my best friend. -Rachel
– Don’t complain, I’m staring down the barrel at 30. -Husbanks

Here is a picture of my first cat. When I grew up during the age of still photography, we dressed our cats in pioneer clothes.

AntiqueLolcat 
I’z kidding! I’m not that old.

There is another reason age 29 hasn’t made me feel old. Husbanks made me breakfast this morning, and I was given a sign of prosperity and new life. A HOLY WAFFLE!

100B3760

Here’s to my twenties!

  1. #1 by Steph Brown on September 3, 2009 - 1:11 pm

    Have a happy, happy birthday Hil!

  2. #2 by Will on September 3, 2009 - 2:29 pm

    Happy Birthday HilStreet. BTW, the mid-30s awaits your arrival.

  3. #3 by Ellie on September 3, 2009 - 6:49 pm

    My first thought when I saw the picture of the cat was that maybe you took him to Frontier City with you and had him dress up in pioneer clothes and had his picture taken. Then I realized that this was a joke.

    (That would have been really funny if you took your cat to Frontier City.)

    Happy birthday, Hil!

  4. #4 by hilstreet on September 3, 2009 - 8:32 pm

    Now I want to take Martin to Frontier City!

  5. #5 by Weslie on September 4, 2009 - 3:47 pm

    Happy Birthday Hil! Your 30s are better than your 20s – I mean, so I’ve heard.

Leave a Reply

