Happy Left Handers Day!

When I met Husbanks many years ago, he asked me why I wore my watch on my right hand. I then noticed he also wore his watch on his right hand. Husbanks told me his lefty dad taught him how to put on his watch and tie his shoes like a lefty, but Husbanks was actually right-handed. He then told me he always wanted to meet a right-handed girl who did the same. As much as I wanted to act like a right-handed girl to get in his pants, I couldn’t re-learn to write and eat that quickly. So I just used my wit to achieve my goal. I digress … 

It’s Left Handers Day. My brother, college roommate Gin, and my BFF are lefties. I am a lefty and proud. I write, eat, and play air guitar left handed. I have the same challenges as many lefties do: trouble using can-openers and Parmesan graters.

Find a lefty to greet today!

  1. #1 by slogerot on August 15, 2009 - 4:03 am

    Both mine and Mason’s mothers are lefties. We are both righties, but both wear watches on our right wrists. It never occurred to me that it might be because our moms are lefties until now. 🙂

  2. #2 by Weslie on August 17, 2009 - 4:48 pm

    My mom is a lefty and I’m a righty. I play pool like a south paw. Apparently from all our time spent in taverns in my formative years?

  3. #3 by Ginny on August 17, 2009 - 9:38 pm

    And dam those wall pencil sharpeners at school….

  4. #4 by hilstreet on August 18, 2009 - 1:23 am

    Yes! Good call on the pencil sharpeners. I still love mechanical pencils to this day. Because they didn’t betray me like the sharpeners did.

Leave a Reply

