I was married here …

On Sunday, my mom and I went to church at First United Methodist in Edmond. I hadn’t been there since my wedding in 2003. In hindsight, this church was one of the first things that made Husbanks and I want to become Methodist. And if you have been paying attention, you know that’s pretty important.

The new minister walked right up to us (points for radical hospitality) and asked Mom and me where we were from. I told him that my wedding was in in their quaint 1920s sanctuary five-and-a-half years earlier (I needed to return a hymnal from five-and-a-half years earlier … I didn’t say that part though… I just put it in the pew).

We talked about itinerancy and the minister who married Husbanks and me.

The service was lovely (it’s Methodist, after all) and afterwards, a woman from the congregation introduced herself. She said “I don’t know why I’m introducing myself, I’m moving to Austin in the fall and will be at a totally different Methodist church then.”

Austin?  I know some Methodist churches in Austin …

Things do happen for a reason. Thanks be to God for the little things.

FUMCedmond
First United Methodist Church, Edmond, OK
  1. #1 by Rachel your ole' intern on July 22, 2009 - 2:59 pm

    I love this church! It reminds me of the church my sister got married in. Methodists are awesome!

  2. #2 by roadwarriorette on July 22, 2009 - 3:05 pm

    That’s a beautiful church!!

Leave a Reply

