Father’s Day

Man, there are a lot of advertisements about fathers and gifts for fathers before Father’s Day. I expected to be all sad on Father’s Day. That afternoon, I received a text from my friend who has remembered to check on me during the holidays this past year. I waited for the sadness to sink in. Then, I read this news story.  I am sure you all read it, about the terminally-ill girl who wanted to see Pixar’s “Up.”

When I read that story, I realized I should not be sad on Father’s Day. I should celebrate the friends in my life who are fathers. And I should mourn for my friends who have lost children, because Father’s Day reminds them of when they were fathers to those they lost. I should reach out to my father friends and their spouses who have lost children.

I shouldn’t be sad.

Oh, and on a side note: I also had a realization that there should be a Mother’s-to-Cats Day too.

  1. #1 by Sarah H. on June 26, 2009 - 4:02 am

    I always get a little sad on Father’s Day, but I am lucky to have a lot of men in my life that are father types. I try to remember to be grateful for them and focus on that. But I was thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

