Things I Learned at My High School Reunion

4827_106286053071_734548071_2778883_1481275_n

1. I work at Texas Instruments.

2. Much like Weslie, I was underwhelmed.  Driving through traffic on I-35 was not worth seeing the few dozen people who showed up to the reunion.

3. The night before your reunion, there will be an informal gathering at a local bar.  GO TO THAT.  150 people attended the renegade reunion, and it turns out I missed it.  There was even a girl fight!

4. There are people who have not graduated from catty high-school gossip. 

5. Small talk is harder now.  I often opened with questions about where someone lived or what they did.  I was halted with this response: “You didn’t know that?  It’s on my facebook.” Study before you attend your reunion, folks.  Everyone had already looked at my page and knew about my career here at Texas Instruments.

6. Despite the disappointments and surprises listed above, it was nice to catch up with people I hadn’t seen in a while.

4827_106286018071_734548071_2778878_5216167_n

  1. #1 by deirdrewalsh on June 22, 2009 - 2:43 pm

    Just last week, my boss went to her hs reunion and said the same thing about the night before pre-party. Turns out the locals don’t want to pay for the real deal. It’s sorta like the pre-prom party without the fake IDs.

  2. #2 by b on June 22, 2009 - 5:02 pm

    I think you should just tell people you work for “a tech company called NI” – maybe that’d stop some of the calculator talk

  3. #3 by Erin on June 25, 2009 - 5:14 am

    Everyone I’ve talked to about it has said the exact same thing about the reunion pre-parties.

    Oh, and I had the luck of meeting someone who actually worked at TI recently. She was surprised by my excitement, but I explained that I’d been mistaken for a Texas Instruments employee many, many times.

    The good news is she was quite pleasant, so perhaps its a good thing to be mistaken for? 🙂

Leave a Reply

