Making Space

When I was in school and when I started my PR career, you put two spaces after sentences. With the world turning to thoughts in 140 characters or less … you don’t do that anymore. You put one space in between sentences. Just like in between words. I am trying not to click my space-bar-placed thumb twice, but it’s hard to break old habits. Two clicks used to end one thought and launch me into another. These two spaces provided a small sense of completion, of closure. Not anymore. Now, everything is all part of one seemingly endless thought. Help me Millennials!

  1. #1 by Morgan on June 10, 2009 - 2:24 pm

    Hil Street,

    In a world of tweets and tags and (almost) real-time blog posts, there is no time for more than one space. Welcome to the other side!

  2. #2 by Husbanks on June 10, 2009 - 4:40 pm

    There’s time for two spaces. It looks better. It’s easier on the eyes. You kids can have your twitters and your X-Boxes; I’ll keep my spaces. After all, what’s existence without space?

    -Husbanks

  3. #3 by Sarah H. on June 10, 2009 - 8:56 pm

    I will always put two spaces. I don’t think I even know how to type sentences without two spaces in between! I am with Husbanks.

  4. #4 by hilstreet on June 11, 2009 - 3:46 am

    In. Your. Face. No-two-spaces people!

    -Husbanks

  5. #5 by Ward on June 11, 2009 - 5:07 am

    Nope, wrong. One space has been correct as long as computers have been capable of typesetting (20+ years). If you’re on a typewriter or a computer that thinks it’s a typewriter, you do two spaces. Otherwise, one.

    Anybody that taught you otherwise was a typing or English teacher, not a professional designer. Look at any professionally published book. There’s not two spaces between sentences. Same with web sites. In fact, web browsers are designed to ignore more than one consecutive space.

    If you put two spaces together, the width is too much larger than the lines pacing, creating distracting vertical “rivers” in the text.

  6. #6 by Ward on June 11, 2009 - 5:09 am

    (any web page includes the comments on this one by the two-spacers)

  7. #7 by Greg on June 11, 2009 - 2:46 pm

    Yeah… I wrote my whole novel using double spaces at the end of sentences. Thankfully there is a ‘replace all’ function in Word. And it replaced all the double spaces with single spaces. True Story. Boring… but true.

    (I still find I double space at the end of sentences… even when I try not to…)

  8. #8 by Courtney on June 12, 2009 - 5:07 am

    FromnowonIwillnolongeruseanyspacessothatIconserveintrawebspace
    forallofthosetwospaceloversoutthere.

  9. #9 by Dawkins on June 19, 2009 - 3:39 am

    That is so funny… because when I see someone make double spaces after sentences, I always assume they are old and learned to type on a typewriter. Now I know. Even some young ones were taught that way.

  10. #10 by Erin on June 25, 2009 - 5:23 am

    I was taught that way too! And I cannot break my habit of typing that way! Between my serial commas and my double spacing, I am a nightmare for the QA team.

Leave a Reply

