Jesus is now following you on Twitter

twitter jesus

What is Twitter?  Twitter is a page of status messages.  From Wikipedia:

Twitter is a free social networking and micro-blogging service that enables its users to send and read other users’ updates known as tweets. Tweets are text-based posts of up to 140 characters in length which are displayed on the user’s profile page and delivered to other users who have subscribed to them (known as followers).

For example, many of my colleagues tweet things that happen at work; people interested in my company can be “followers” of my colleagues.  Weslie shares funny observations.  Some people you follow will tell you mundane things, like when they are brushing their teeth and stuff.

You choose what friends you want to follow.  When someone chooses to follow you, here is the standard email you receive:

Hi, 
Weslie (@hiweslie) is now following your updates on Twitter. A little information about hiweslie: 190 followers, 733 updates, following 75 people.
You may follow hiweslie as well by clicking on the “follow” button on their profile. You may also block hiweslie if you don’t want them to follow you.
– The Twitter Team

As of yesterday, Jesus is following me on Twitter.  Now read the Twitter email  from Jesus.  Same email – different feel.

Hi,
Jesus (@Jesus_) is now following your updates on Twitter. A little information about Jesus: 2022 followers, 924 updates, following 1058 people.
You may follow Jesus as well by clicking on the “follow” button on their profile. You may also block Jesus if you don’t want them to follow you.
– The Twitter Team

Jesus sought me out first, then I chose to follow him.  I could block Jesus if I didn’t want him getting updates about my personal life, or if I got annoyed by the message he was putting out there.  I could also see who else follows Jesus the same way I do by looking for interactions between them and Jesus.  

hmmmm … this would be an interesting sermon.

  1. #1 by Weslie Moore on May 16, 2009 - 7:03 am

    Does he say wise things? I have some questions about some current events. I wonder if he responds to dm’s.

  2. #2 by Dawkins on May 20, 2009 - 4:25 am

    Do you think twice about some of your twitter posts, now that Jesus is following you? I would.

Leave a Reply

