“Technology Graveyard”

Last night at a fund raiser, I met a fellow Austin PR professional.  We chatted about Austin PR … the agencies, the clients, the companies, and (of course) the dominant industries.

He and I both come from the tech sector.  We chatted briefly about ultrawideband technology – a hot high tech topic from the early 2000s.  It was UWB technology that launched my career; my first client was a UWB Semicon company.  This week, Trisha sent me an article about how UWB was dead.  The article made Trisha and I feel … old.  My new friend and I laughed about the article.

He then said something pretty funny, “Our portfolios probably look like technology graveyards.”

So true.  Not only does my portfolio include print clippings from trade journals now defunct, it includes print clippings of technologies past.  Technology moves fast!  Check out this ad from Honeywell recently posted by Boing Boing:

electronic20mail-thumb-520x709-19550

While the ever-changing world of high-tech PR may make my portfolio look silly, it also highlights the benefit of day-to-day high-tech PR work.  The material we promote may not be our hobby, but it’s always changing, which keeps the content fresh.  And that’s fun. 

PR girl – OUT!

  1. #1 by hilstreet on May 7, 2009 - 2:41 pm

    From Johanna’s “The Office” calendar today: “Everyone always wants new things. Everybody likes new inventions, new technology. People will never be replaced by machines. In the end, life, and business, are about human connections. And computers are about trying to murder you in a lake. And to me, the choice is easy.” -Michael

  2. #2 by Lauren on May 9, 2009 - 3:55 am

    So true! It also made me sad to read that Portable Design and RCR Wireless folded recently. Back in the day those were big pub targets for my clients.

Leave a Reply

